"Witch Series Concludes with a Challenge of Love Lost and Found"

FACE THE FIRE is the final book of the Three Sisters Island Trilogy. This is Mia Devlin's story. For a complete overview, see reviews for DANCE UPON THE AIR, and HEAVEN AND EARTH.

Her circle had been broken, and still she survived. The one called Fire came upon a Silkie asleep in a cave. She fell in love at the sight of him, and hid his pelt, binding him to her. They married, had children, and were happy for a time. But Fire became complacent, and got careless. One day her lover found his pelt, and the sea called him home. He forgot about his life with her. Grief for his loss, and that of her two sisters, Air and Earth, consumed her. Before she leapt from the cliff into the sea that claimed her love and her life, she cast a spell of protection over the island. The spell would last for three centuries, at which time three women of the sisters' blood would once again face the dark power, to balance the scales. Should they fail, the island would be lost to the sea forever.

Three Sisters Island - May 2002

Unlike her ancestress, Mia Devlin had survived her devastating heartbreak. A decade ago the love that now fed her Craft, had belonged to Sam Logan, the handsome, moody boy, whose home life had been as empty as her own. Like Mia, Sam had power, a legacy of their common ancestors. Like Fire's Silkie love, his element was water. Their magic had only enhanced their passion for each other, but the intensity of their emotions had frightened Sam. Though he loved Mia as well, her plans for their future together made him feel trapped. He didn't want to be confined to a small island, or one woman, forever. He was young, and their parting was deliberately cruel. He'd known of no other way to make the break final. He'd meant it to be ... then.

Mia had been desperately grieved, but in the ensuing years she'd recovered and had become a powerful and independent woman and witch. She would not risk her heart again. Ironically, time and distance had shown Sam that everything his heart desired had been on that small island, and with that one woman. It had taken time for him to become his own man, in order to return to her. Now was the time. Every instinct told him that he was a part of the legacy, and the confrontation to come. He was the fourth element. He would complete the circle, and protect the woman he'd never stopped loving.

Nell had found the courage to break free of her nightmare. Ripley had exacted justice with harm to none. Mia's challenge would involve love, and Sam was determined to win hers back. Unfortunately it was just as possible that her task would be to get him out of her system, to let HIM go this time, on her terms.

The darkness had gathered strength for its final stand. Once Fire had stood alone, and failed to defeat it. Now there were six of the blood to stand against it. The circle of three remained unbroken, and the men who loved these remarkable women would fuel their power with that love, to protect them all, and save their home.

This final tale in the series is a true example of Ms. Roberts' talents and storytelling ability. It is always difficult to find sympathy for a hero who breaks a woman's heart, and then returns years later expecting nothing to have changed between them. Harder still when the woman is as remarkable as Mia Devlin. Although it is obvious that the two are soul mates, and that she will never love another, she has become a whole woman in her own right. No longer a needy teen whose world revolved around Sam, she has a successful business, loyal friends, her garden, and her magic. She may want him, she may even love him still, but she no longer needs Sam to complete her.

Sex is no longer enough for Sam, whose epiphany does not end when he reaches the island. Mia's resistance puzzles him. The spark between them is stronger than ever. He's shown faith by purchasing the Magick Inn Hotel from his father. He's here to stay, and though the idea of marriage still fills him with trepidation, he knows he wants her to be an integral part of his life. Why is she willing to share her body, but not her heart? Sam still believes that he has a role to play in the final confrontation with the darkness. As the time approaches, he finds that he will do anything necessary to protect Mia, even if it means letting her go.

Mia too has come to the realization that loving someone means putting their happiness before your own, that the love they'd shared as children was a different kind of love from the one that's developed between them now. Can she let go of the hurt without letting go of Sam? Can this be the key to defeating the darkness once and for all?

This reviewer recommends that your read the entire series, and savor every word. Three Sisters Island is a place you will want to return to again and again. Bravo.

Copyright 2002

Reviewed by Leslie Tramposch
Posted June 25, 2002


In the conclusion to her acclaimed Three Sisters Island trilogy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts masterfully evokes the quaint charm of New England, weaving a spellbinding take of true love -- and sheer magic...

Mia Devlin knows what it's like to love with your whole heart -- and then watch your love walk away. Years ago, she and Sam Logan shared an incredible bond built on passion, legend and fate. But one day he fled Three Sisters Island, leaving her lost in memories of the magic they shared -- and determined to live without love...

The new owner of the island's only hotel, Sam has returned to Three Sisters with hopes of winning back Mia's affections. He is puzzled when she greets him with icy indifference -- for the chemistry between them is still sizzling and true. Angry, hurt and deeply confused, Mia refuses to admit that a passion for Sam still burns up her heart. But she'll need his help -- and his powers -- to face her greatest, most terrifying challenge. And as the deadline for breaking a centuries-old curse draws to a near, they must take the first steps toward destiny -- and come together to turn back the dark...


Face The Fire
(Three Sisters Island Trilogy: Book 3)
by Nora Roberts

May 1, 2002
Available: May 28, 2002
ISBN #051513287X
EAN #9780515132878
358 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Nora Roberts

The Pagan Stone
The Hollow
Blood Brothers
Valley of Silence
Dance of the Gods
Morrigan's Cross
Red Lily
Moon Shadows
Black Rose
Blue Dahlia
Charmed & Enchanted
A Little Magic
Hidden Riches
A Little Fate
Remember When
The Lives and Loves of Four Brothers on the Windswept Shores
Key of Valor
Chesapeake Blue
Key of Light
Key of Knowledge
Once Upon a Midnight
Remember When
Private Scandals
Three Fates
Truly, Madly Manhattan
Table For Two
Midnight Bayou
Chesapeake Blue
Once Upon A Kiss
Three Fates
The Villa
A Little Magic
Heaven And Earth
Midnight Bayou
Once Upon A Rose
Dance Upon the Air
Rising Tides
Sea Swept
Carolina Moon
The Stanislaski Sisters
Heart of the Sea
Once Upon a Dream
Night Tales
Once Upon A Star
The Donovan Legacy
Inner Harbor
Sacred Sins

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction