"Fast paced futuristic police procedural with plenty of punch"

They are two spoiled rich kids in their early twenties, whose goals in life are to have enough fun and thrills so they want wake up the next morning. They were overindulged all their lives, given every advantage but in their twisted psychopathic minds, that is not nearly enough for such special specimens as themselves. Kevin and Lucien devise a game with rules and points involving meeting women over chat lines and using date rape drugs to live out their fantasies.

Their first victim dies of an overdose of the drugs and Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the NYPSD catches the case. She quickly realizes there are two predators in their growing crime spree but they have gone to unusual lengths to cancel their identifies. Even with the help of her sexy and powerful husband Roarke, she is not getting any closer to putting the monsters inside a cage. It is going to take more than fancy footwork to catch these perpetrators. Eve will need all her brilliance perhaps abetted by a miracle or two to apprehend this duo.

This long running series remains fresh and entertaining so that a person could believe that this book is the beginning of the Eve Dallas-Roarke romantic mysteries. The plot is a highly developed and fast paced futuristic police procedural with plenty of punch. SEDUCTION IN DEATH is a fast breezy read and part of the enjoyment comes from hating the two antagonists who do not have one redeeming quality between them.

Harriet Klausner Copyright July, 2001

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted February 1, 2002


Dante had been courting his victim in cyberspace for weeks before meeting her in person. A few sips of wine and a few hours later, she was dead. The murder weapon: a rare, unusually undetectable date-rape drug with a street value of a quarter of a million dollars.

Lieutenant Eve Dallas is playing and replaying the clues in her mind. The candlelight, the music, the rose petals strewn across the bed--a seduction meant for his benefit, not hers. He hadn't intended to kill her. But now that he has, he is left with only two choices: He can either hole up in fear and guilt, or he can start hunting again...

Genre: Police Procedural, Mystery, Futuristic

Reading order of IN DEATH series:

    1. Naked in Death (1995)
    2. Glory in Death (1995)
    3. Immortal in Death (1996)
    4. Rapture in Death (1996)
    5. Ceremony In Death (1997)
    6. Vengeance in Death (1997)
    7. Holiday in Death (1998)
    8. Midnight in Death (1998) (in Silent Night)
    9. Conspiracy in Death (1999)
    10. Loyalty in Death (1999)
    11. Witness in Death (2000)
    12. Judgment in Death (2000)
    13. Betrayal in Death (2001)
    14. Interlude in Death (2001) (in Out of This World)
    15. Seduction in Death (2001)
    16. Reunion In Death (2002)
    17. Purity in Death (2002)
    18. Portrait in Death (2003)
    19. Imitation in Death (2003)
    20. Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
    21. Divided in Death (2004)
    22. Visions in Death (2004)
    23. Survivor in Death (2005)
    24. Origin in Death (2005)
    25. Memory in Death (2006)
    26. Haunted in Death (2006) (in Bump in the Night)
    27. Born in Death (2006)
    28. Innocent in Death (2007)
    29. Eternity in Death (2007) (in Dead of Night)
    30. Creation in Death (2007)
    31. Strangers in Death (2008)
    32. Ritual in Death (2008) (in Suite 606)
    33. Salvation In Death (2008)
    34. Promises in Death (2009)
    35. Kindred in Death (2009)
    36. Missing in Death (2009) (in The Lost)
    37. Fantasy in Death (2010)
    38. Indulgence in Death (2010)
    39. Treachery in Death (2011)
    Big Jack (2010)


Seduction In Death
(In Death: Book 15)
by J. D. Robb

Berkley Pub Group
September 1, 2001
Available: August 29, 2001
ISBN #0425181464
EAN #9780425181461
368 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
J. D. Robb

Time of Death
Treachery in Death
Indulgence in Death
Fantasy in Death
Kindred in Death
The Lost
Promises in Death
Salvation in Death
Suite 606
Strangers in Death
Three In Death anthology
Creation in Death
Dead of Night
Innocent in Death
Born in Death
Memory in Death
Bump in the Night
Origin In Death
Survivor in Death
Imitation in Death
Visions in Death
Remember When
Naked in Death
Witness in Death
Loyalty in Death
Divided in Death
Conspiracy in Death
Remember When
Portrait in Death
Purity In Death
Reunion In Death
Out Of This World
Betrayal in Death
Judgment in Death
Silent Night
Holiday in Death
Vengeance in Death
Ceremony in Death
Rapture in Death
Immortal in Death
Glory in Death
Naked in Death

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction