"a thrilling, heartwarming story"

Once again, I got to lose myself in the world of the Psy and Changelings. This time, the story deals with the SnowDancer wolf pack. And I got to revisit characters I've already learned about—Andrew "Drew" Kincaid and Indigo, high-ranking SnowDancer lieutenant. As the tracker for the pack, Drew holds a unique position. Not exactly in the hierarchy, but outside of it, he reports directly to the alpha. Even though Drew has had his share of women, there's one in particular he's interested in. The only problem is he's younger than she is and he doesn't fit with what she wants in a mate. One day, he crosses the friendship line by kissing her. Now he really thinks he's blown it with Indigo. Of course, he'll have the chance to see if he can fix things with her when they go out with the problem juveniles.

Indigo has noticed that Drew has grown up, and very nicely. A very handsome, charming man, but he's not what she wants in a mate. After all, she knows firsthand what can happen when a dominant female gets involved with a less dominant male. And she doesn't want a relationship that will end with the two of them hating each other. However, the more time she spends with Drew, the more she finds herself attracted to him. The upcoming camping trip into the mountains with the juveniles will really test her resolve.

Is there a chance for Drew and Indigo? And what do the Psy have planned? Is it all the Psy or just one certain group of Psy? Will there be some kind of showdown between the Psy and Changelings?

PLAY OF PASSION (PSY/CHANGELING) is a thrilling, heartwarming story. Nalini Singh comes through with plenty of passion, thrilling adventure, and some really tear- jerking scenes. My favorite was when the little boy gave Drew one of his little soldiers because it made him happy to play with it and he didn't want Drew to be sad. Such scenes like this one pepper Nalini's works and is one reason why she will always be on my autobuy list of authors. I really loved how much more I learned about the wolves in this story too—just an added bonus to me. And as always, the plot advances with each book, so I'm always left wanting more. The only complaint I have about Nalini Singh is how long I have to wait for the next one in the series. I want more!

Reviewed by Chere Gruver
Posted November 3, 2010


Passion and reason collide with explosive force in the newest installment of Nalini Singh’s “mesmerizing”* Psy/Changeling series. As a conflict with Pure Psy looms on the horizon, two powerful wolves fight a far more intimate war of their own…

In his position as tracker for the SnowDancer pack, it’s up to Drew Kincaid to rein in rogue changelings who have lost control of their animal halves—even if it means killing those who have gone too far. But nothing in his life has prepared him for the battle he must now wage to win the heart of a woman who makes his body ignite…and who threatens to enslave his wolf.

Lieutenant Indigo Riviere doesn’t easily allow skin privileges, especially of the sensual kind—and the last person she expects to find herself craving is the most wickedly playful male in the den. Everything she knows tells her to pull back before the flames burn them both to ash…but she hasn’t counted on Drew’s will.

Now, two of SnowDancer’s most stubborn wolves find themselves playing a hot, sexy game even as lethal danger stalks the very place they call home…

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Shapeshifter, Psychic

Psy/Changeling reading order per author's website:

  1. Slave to Sensation (September 2006)
  2. Visions of Heat (March 2007)
  3. Free short story: The Cannibal Princess
  4. Caressed By Ice (September 2007)
  5. “Beat of Temptation” in An Enchanted Season (October 2007)*
  6. Mine to Possess (February 2008)
  7. Hostage to Pleasure (September 2008)
  8. “Stroke of Enticement” in The Magical Christmas Cat (October 2008) *
  9. Free short story: A Gift for Kit
  10. Branded by Fire (July 2009)
  11. Blaze of Memory (November 2009)
  12. Bonds of Justice (July 2010)
  13. "Whisper of Sin" in Burning Up (August 2010)*
  14. Play of Passion (November 2010)
  15. Hawke's Book (2011)
*This novella was written to stand alone so you can pick it up at any stage in the series.

Read an Excerpt


Play of Passion
(Psy/Changeling: Book 12)
by Nalini Singh

Berkley Pub Group
November 1, 2010
Available: November 2, 2010
ISBN #0425237796
EAN #9780425237793
352 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Nalini Singh

Tangle of Need
Angels' Flight
Lord of the Abyss and Desert Warrior
Lord of the Abyss
Angels of Darkness
Archangel's Blade
Kiss of Snow
Archangel's Consort
Burning Up
Bonds of Justice
Archangel's Kiss
Blaze of Memory
Must Love Hellhounds
Branded by Fire
Angels' Blood
Angels' Pawn
The Magical Christmas Cat
Hostage to Pleasure
Mine to Possess
An Enchanted Season
Caressed By Ice
Visions of Heat
Slave to Sensation
Desert Warrior

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction