ParaNormalRomance.org

REVIEW

"Story will appeal to mystery and science fiction fans"

Earth has colonized the stars and inhabited many worlds in many galaxies that included intelligent life forms. However, wherever humans go, crime follows. The Interplanetary Investigation Bureau deals with problems the local governments cannot handle.

IIB rookie investigator Dina Marlijn teams up with veteran Jon Rzie to stop an unidentified killer from murdering more miners on Exodus. Upon her arrival, Rayn De Star, a telepath from planet B'haraba, makes his presence known to Dina. He wants her sexually because she is a telepath, but she hates and fears his race because they are rumored to use mind control to force an individual to do their bidding. As Dina gets to know Rayn, she realizes he is not a murderer or any form of a monster and begins to develop forbidden feelings for him. Together with Jon they work to catch a mass murderer.

RAINSCAPE is so good you wish it could go on forever. Jaye Raycroft has written an exciting futuristic romance that will appeal to mystery and science fiction fans as well. The strong romance enhances a complex plot and the incredibly action-packed scenes. The author writes such vivid sub-plots that the novel's sub-plots feels very real. Readers who enjoy Marilyn Campbell and Kathleen Morgan will positively love Ms. Raycraft's debut novel that hopefully is the beginning of a brand news series.

Harriet Klausner Copyright March 2001

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted January 20, 2002

SUMMARY

Rookie investigator Dina Marlijn's dream has come true. She's been assigned her first outworld homicide case with her favorite partner, Jon Rzije. Arriving on the tiny desert world of Exodus, Jon is the only man who knows Dina's secret -- that she's a telepath with powers dangerously close to those of the Dark Star dens, a telepathic race so hated they've been banned from Synergy Worlds as "Dark Outworlders." There's one secret Dina keeps even from Jon.

No one hates the dens more than Dina.

But soon after arriving, the dream investigation goes awry. Dina is attacked and left for dead, only to be rescued by Rayn DeStar, enigmatic leader of a band of desert misfits. An outlaw on Exodus, on the run from his own homeworld, Rayn is a dens.

Dina counters the seduction of Rayn's golden eyes by manipulating him into helping with her investigation, but soon she wonders who is exploiting whom? The telepathic "bond" she shares with Rayn draws her deeper and deeper into a web of desire, mistrust, and betrayal. Can listening to her heart extricate her from the lies surrounding her? Or will her longing to connect with a soul mate be the bait that lures her into the ultimate trap of deception?

Time is running out for Dina and Rayn, and the choices they must make will mean life or death for themselves and those around them....

 

Rainscape
(Dark Star: Book 1)
by Jaye Roycraft

Imajinn
March 1, 2001
Available: November 7, 2006
ISBN #1893896315
EAN #9781893896314
Trade Size
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Jaye Roycraft

Hell's Warrior
Blood Rain
Immortal Image
Shadow Image
AfterImage
Double Image


EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction