"Anthology was a great read of familiar authors"

"Interlude in Death" by J.D. Robb is the next installment of Robb's Eve Dallas/Roarke series. Eve has to deal with murder on Roarke's new space station at a convention of cops, and also deal with a fanatic who's after her husband. It is only an average example of the series IMO, and not one of her best.

"Kinsman" by Sue Krinard is standalone. She has not written of this universe before. The story is about a female telepath who is searching for her brother who has gone into alien territory. Her only help is another telepath who has been accepted by the aliens as family. This is also a very good story, a true blend of SF and romance.

"Immortality" by Maggie Shayne is part of her witch trilogy, and it won't mean as much if you haven't read the book preceding it, in which the short story's heroine was the villain. I thought this story did a wonderful job of redeeming this woman, and it made a moving tale.

"Magic like Heat Across my Skin" by Laurell K Hamilton is the first few chapters of her next book, due out in October. This story won't mean nearly as much if you haven't followed all the sexual tension in the preceding books, nor will it make much sense IMO. But, if you have, Hamilton reunites her trio and it is incredibly erotic. I'm buying the book hardcover the day it comes out.

If you are familiar with any of the books and authors (and I love all four), this anthology was a great treat. If you aren't it might serve as a decent introduction, but it won't be as much fun.

Shelly Raines Copyright August 2001
for ParaNormal Romance Reviews

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted January 20, 2002



Four bestselling mystery authors contribute to this collection that features a theme of love, supernatural style.

Includes a new Lt. Eve Dallas story by Robb; a new "Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter" tale from Laurell K. Hamilton (which is actually an excerpt from her upcoming title NARCISSUS IN CHAINS); and stories by Susan Krinard and Maggie Shayne.


Out Of This World
by J. D. Robb, Laurell K. Hamilton, Susan Krinard, Maggie Shayne

August 1, 2001
Available: August 8, 2001
ISBN #0515131091
EAN #9780515131093
368 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
J. D. Robb

Time of Death
Treachery in Death
Indulgence in Death
Fantasy in Death
Kindred in Death
The Lost
Promises in Death
Salvation in Death
Suite 606
Strangers in Death
Three In Death anthology
Creation in Death
Dead of Night
Innocent in Death
Born in Death
Memory in Death
Bump in the Night
Origin In Death
Survivor in Death
Imitation in Death
Visions in Death
Remember When
Naked in Death
Witness in Death
Loyalty in Death
Divided in Death
Conspiracy in Death
Remember When
Portrait in Death
Purity In Death
Reunion In Death
Seduction In Death
Betrayal in Death
Judgment in Death
Silent Night
Holiday in Death
Vengeance in Death
Ceremony in Death
Rapture in Death
Immortal in Death
Glory in Death
Naked in Death

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction