"sit on the edge of your seat plot"

The night isn't safe for humans and Denise MacGregor knows this more than anyone. Her best friend is half-vampire Cat Crawfield and Denise's friendship with the 'Reaper' cost her dearly. If she hadn't grieved enough in the last year then now she is. Her family is dying one by one and Denise knows there has to be more to it than just a simple heart problem. What she doesn't realise is that a demon is involved.

There is a family secret and the demon coming to collect what he is owed has decided Denise can help him. She is unable to reach Cat and her husband Bones and goes to the only other person she can think of who could help. Spade is one of the last people Denise wants to see but her life and family could all die if she doesn't do something.

Spade is very powerful and has been a vampire for a long time. He wants to help Denise as much as possible but doesn't know what effects she could have on him now that she has been branded by the demon. Soon Spade is in too deep and his feelings for Denise are growing. However he has to be very careful because once the first crimson drop falls, they will both be lost.

This first book in the Night Huntress World series is good enough to eat. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about Cat Crawford's adventures with Bones but reading about Spade and Denise was just as good and down right addictive. Once I started reading I couldn't stop. The same style, energy and action was packed into this book as those in the Night Huntress series. There is nothing wrong with this spin-off.

At first it was slightly confusing to think 'Denise and Spade' instead of 'Cat and Bones'. However after the first couple of chapters I was right in there with the new main characters. I enjoyed the fact that some of the other characters from the Night Huntress series played a part in this book. Bones, Cat and Ian were all present as well as a couple of others. I felt right at home with the gang and loved reading about things from another perspective.

This reminded me a lot of the Argeneau series by Lynsay Sands and I hope there will be more. Of course I missed Cat being the main focus but this story was just so well written, with a sit on the edge of your seat plot, that I can't find fault with the new turn the series is taking. Well done to the author for another great read. Keep it up!

Reviewed by Amber Chalmers
Posted March 6, 2010


A Night Huntress spin-off series...

The night is not safe for mortals. Denise MacGregor knows all too well what lurks in the shadows her best friend is half-vampire Cat Crawfield and she has already lost more than the average human could bear. But her family's dark past is wrapped in secrets and shrouded in darkness and a demon shapeshifter has marked Denise as prey.

Now her survival depends on an immortal who craves a taste of her.

He is Spade, a powerful, mysterious vampire who has walked the earth for centuries and is now duty-bound to protect this endangered, alluring human even if it means destroying his own kind. Denise may arouse his deepest hungers, but Spade knows he must fight his urge to have her as they face the demon nightmare together...

Because once the first drop of crimson falls, they will both be lost.

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Author's Note: The Night Huntress World novels are "spin-off" books where side characters in the Night Huntress series are now the hero/heroine of their own novels. The first spin-off book will feature Spade (a.k.a. Charles) as the main character. The second spin-off book will feature Mencheres as the main character. These books will be stand-alone novels, not the start of a new series, and will be set in current times with their story lines running parallel to the Night Huntress series. More spin-off stories featuring side characters are planned.

Read an Excerpt


First Drop of Crimson
(Night Huntress World: Book 1)
by Jeaniene Frost

February 1, 2010
Available: February 9, 2010
ISBN #0061583227
EAN #9780061583223
384 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Jeaniene Frost

The Bite Before Christmas
One Grave at a Time
This Side of the Grave
Haunted by Your Touch
Death's Excellent Vacation
Eternal Kiss of Darkness
Destined for an Early Grave
Four Dukes and a Devil
At Grave's End
Weddings From Hell
One Foot in the Grave
Halfway to the Grave

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction