"Real tear-jerker of a story!"

When the broken woman is left at his door like so much garbage, Devraj Santos is both appalled and worried. After all, Dev is the Director of The Shine Foundation—the Forgotten organization—and it's common knowledge Dev is a sucker for a woman in need. And this woman is definitely in need. It's obvious she's been tortured and brings all of Dev's protective feelings out. The fact she's beautiful doesn't hurt either. Once she's in Shine's medical ward and has been looked at by a doctor, they figure out that the woman is Psy. A definite strike against her. The fact she can't remember who she is when she wakes up doesn't help either. Of course, when she says she may have been programmed as a sleeper, concern notches up. Eventually, with Ashaya's help, they discover the woman is Ekaterina and worked with Ashaya in the lab where the Psy were experimenting with Forgotten children. The woman really doesn't like the name Ekaterina, so Dev—and everyone else— calls her Katya. Even though he can't trust her, Dev finds himself pulled to her—not only because of the circumstances under which he found her, but because of her courage and bravery.

When Katya wakes up, she has no idea who she is. The only thing she can remember is the torture she endured when the "shadow man" cruelly invaded her mind. Of course, her Silence was totally shot by the torture she endured and she's open to all kinds of feelings now. And what she's feeling right now is quite an attraction to the very handsome Director of Shine, something she never would have experienced under Silence. Right now though, she knows she has to be a danger to everyone at Shine. Whoever the shadow man is, he must have programmed her to do something bad and it was no accident she was left on the Director of Shine's doorstep. And he won't leave Katya alone—either she's with Dev, or locked up somewhere.

The more time goes by, the more Katya begins to remember things from her past and the more she realizes she's a major threat to Dev and The Shine Foundation.

Is there any way to undo the damage done to Katya's brain? Will Katya do something to Dev or Shine? Who tortured her? Will she be able to have a relationship with Dev?

BLAZE OF MEMORY is a bit darker than most of the PSY- CHANGELING SERIES. In this story, Nalini Singh gives us a much better look at the Forgotten and how they cope in this world of Psy, Changelings and humans. We also learn how the Forgotten dropped out of the PsyNet when the Silence protocol was started in a series of letters written by one of Dev's ancestors. And another bonus in this installment is getting to catch up with some of the characters we've already grown to love. But the main focus in this tale is the story of Katya and Dev. Katya is broken, but even so, she never gives up and keeps pushing herself to remember, regardless of what it may do to her physically. And Dev— like a Psy himself in how cold he is—learns what it is to love someone totally and completely. Don't even think of reading this book unless you don't mind crying because this one is a real tear-jerker. Tears are starting now just thinking of the ending. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by Chere Gruver
Posted December 25, 2009


Nalini Singh returns to the Psy/Changeling world and its “breathtaking blend of passion, adventure, and the paranormal”* as a woman without a past becomes the pawn of a man who controls her future…

Dev Santos discovers her unconscious and battered, with no memory of who she is. All she knows is that she’s dangerous. Charged with protecting his people’s most vulnerable secrets, Dev is duty-bound to eliminate all threats. It’s a task he’s never hesitated to complete…until he finds himself drawn to a woman who might yet prove the enemy’s most insidious weapon.

Stripped of her memories by a shadowy oppressor, and programmed to carry out cold-blooded murder, Katya Haas is fighting desperately for her sanity itself. Her only hope is Dev. But how can she expect to gain the trust of a man who could very well be her next target? For in this game, one must die…

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Shapeshifters, Psychics

Psy/Changeling reading order per author's website:

  1. Slave to Sensation (September 2006)
  2. Visions of Heat (March 2007)
  3. Free short story: The Cannibal Princess
  4. Caressed By Ice (September 2007)
  5. “Beat of Temptation” in An Enchanted Season (October 2007)*
  6. Mine to Possess (February 2008)
  7. Hostage to Pleasure (September 2008)
  8. “Stroke of Enticement” in The Magical Christmas Cat (October 2008) *
  9. Free short story: A Gift for Kit
  10. Branded by Fire (July 2009)
  11. Blaze of Memory (November 2009)
*This novella was written to stand alone so you can pick it up at any stage in the series.

Read an Excerpt


Blaze of Memory
(Psy/Changelings: Book 9)
by Nalini Singh

Berkley Pub Group
November 1, 2009
Available: November 3, 2009
ISBN #0425231119
EAN #9780425231111
400 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Nalini Singh

Tangle of Need
Angels' Flight
Lord of the Abyss and Desert Warrior
Lord of the Abyss
Angels of Darkness
Archangel's Blade
Kiss of Snow
Archangel's Consort
Play of Passion
Burning Up
Bonds of Justice
Archangel's Kiss
Must Love Hellhounds
Branded by Fire
Angels' Blood
Angels' Pawn
The Magical Christmas Cat
Hostage to Pleasure
Mine to Possess
An Enchanted Season
Caressed By Ice
Visions of Heat
Slave to Sensation
Desert Warrior

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction