"wickedly seductive"

Eleven years ago, reporter Cassa Hawkins traveled to Germany in what was supposed to be a rescue mission for a group of Bengal Breeds. Instead, she discovers that her husband is behind an act of horrifying betrayal and murder. When all is said and done, Cassa's husband lies dead and only one Bengal is left alive -- Cabal St. Laurent.

Cabal has spent the last decade behind the scenes with the Breed Council in what effectively could be termed their "assassin." Cabal is bound and determined to move past not only that gruesome day eleven years ago where he watched everyone he loved die, but also the memory of Cassa Hawkins. He wants nothing to do with the nosey reporter, but unfortunately, that's not going to happen. Cassa is very much part of the Breed group and is used for most of their news conferences. And worse, Cabal knows Cassa is his soul mate. But how can these two come to terms with not only their violent past, but their extremely different personalities? And more importantly, can Cassa move on from the guilt she feels over her unwitting part in the massacre, and can Cabal ever forgive her?

I particularly liked Cassa. She's extremely head strong and determined to do the things she thinks she must -- even if that does put her in dangerous waters. I enjoyed watching these two strong-willed characters meet their match in each other and come to terms with how they were going to make their relationship work.

Filled with a fast-moving storyline, enthralling storytelling, and engaging characters, I found myself completely wrapped up in what is the 19th novel of Ms. Leigh's popular Breed series. Bengal's Heart is wickedly seductive with sizzling sex scenes that will leave you begging for more. I've read every book of this series and always find myself eagerly anticipating the next.

Reviewed by Mippy Carlson
Posted August 6, 2009


New York Times bestselling author Lora Leigh returns to the world of the Breeds where animal instincts rule, and anyone can fall prey to the mating heat…

Reporter Cassa Hawkins has always supported Breed rights, believing they should be allowed to live free of fear and prejudice among the humans. A reasonable woman couldn’t think otherwise, especially in the presence of Cabal St. Lawrence, a spectacularly muscled specimen of the Bengal breed. The epitome of the male animal, his sensuous growl can fire up Cassa’s vulnerable body faster than a flame. Yet neither can ignore the nightmare unfolding around them…

The Breeds have been incriminated in a series of violent murder, and accused of hiding a vicious serial killer. It’s left to Cassa and Cabal to discover the truth. But as hunter becomes prey, are trust and passion enough to keep them alive through the night?

Sexual Content: NC-17
Genre: Paranormal

Note from author:The Breeds were originally written out of order chronologically, so that and a change in publishers is why there are chronological discrepancies in Jacob’s Faith and Aiden’s Charity. The Breed character is listed first.

Breed reading order:

  1. Tempting the Beast
  2. The Man Within
  3. Elizabeth’s Wolf
  4. Kiss of Heat
  5. Soul Deep
  6. The Breed Next Door (in Hot Spell anthology)
  7. Megan’s Mark
  8. Harmony’s Way
  9. Tanner’s Scheme
  10. Wolfe’s Hope
  11. Jacob’s Faith
  12. Aiden’s Charity
  13. In a Wolf’s Embrace (in Beyond the Dark anthology)
  14. Dawn’s Awakening
  15. A Jaguar’s Kiss (in Shifter anthology)
  16. Mercury’s War
  17. Christmas Heat (The Magical Christmas Cat anthology)
  18. Coyote's Mate (February 2009)
  19. Bengal's Heart (August 2009)

Read an Excerpt


Bengal's Heart
(Breed: Book 19)
by Lora Leigh

Berkley Pub Group
August 1, 2009
Available: August 4, 2009
ISBN #0425229025
EAN #9780425229026
352 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Lora Leigh

Stygian's Honor
Deadly Sins
Tied With a Bow
Lawe's Justice
Midnight Sins
Navarro's Promise
Styx's Storm
Lion's Heat
Black Jack
Guilty Pleasure
Hot for the Holidays
Heat Seeker
Real Men Last All Night
Coyote's Mate
The Magical Christmas Cat
Mercury's War
Nauti Dreams
Wild Card
Dawn's Awakening
Beyond the Dark
Nauti Nights
Tanner’s Scheme
Nauti Boy
Hot Spell
Harmony's Way
Megan's Mark
Broken Wings
The Man Within
Dragon Prime
Kiss of Heat
Wicked Intent
Ellora's Cavemen: Tales From the Temple I
Cowboy & the Captive
Elizabeth's Wolf
Dragon Prime
August Heat
The Man Within
Moving Violations
Elemental Desires
Aiden's Charity
Moving Violations
Heather's Gift
Shadowed Legacy
Shattered Legacy
Menage a Magick
Jacob's Faith
Soul Deep
Tempting the Beast
Sarah's Seduction
Wolfe's Hope
Marly's Choice

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction