"a great paranormal romance with a riveting plot and spectacular characters"

After the First Battle was fought between Lucifer, his rebel angels and God's forces, Lucifer and his rebel angels were turned into demons and sent to Hell and the angels, who refused to take sides, were turned into Nosferatu. The demons were bound by the Rules: they could not take a human life and they could not interfere with human free will. On the other hand, the Nosferatu were not bound by the Rules, but had a weakness to sunlight. To protect humans from demons and Nosferatu, seraphim angels were based in Caelum and traveled to Earth, when needed. However, when the seraphim angels began to be worshiped by the humans, Lucifer became jealous and began the Second Battle. During the Second Battle, Michael helped defeat Lucifer by killing the dragon, that he was using against the forces of good. Because of this, Michael was made a Guardian and given the power to create other Guardians, and the seraphim angels ascended leaving Caelum to the care of the Guardians. A Guardian is chosen, when a human dies to save another from a demon or Nosferatu.

Alice Grey, known as the Black Widow by the novice Guardians made a bargain with a demon, and now she is desperate to be released from the agreement. When novice Guardian, Jake Hawkins, keeps butting into her business, Alice tries to dissuade him, but Jake is stubborn.

I don't know how I've missed this wonderful series, but I'm thrilled to have, finally, discovered it. DEMON BOUND is the seventh book in the GUARDIAN series, but I had no problem following the plot. It can definitely stand alone.

DEMON BOUND is a great paranormal romance with a riveting plot and spectacular characters. Jake is a charming, stubborn, wonderful hero, who just happens to have foot-in- mouth disease--which just makes him all the more adorable. I found myself falling for Jake a little bit. Alice, who is considered creepy by the novices, is standoffish and aloof because of her circumstances, and Jake is just the man to get her out of her shell and stand beside her through the hard times. The banter between these two is, at times, hilarious, and the secondary characters make you want to read their stories. The world Ms. Brook creates is intricate and intriguing, and I'm well and truly hooked. Now, I have the six previous stories to look forward to.

Reviewed by Marlene Breakfield
Posted April 11, 2009



Among the Guardians, Alice Grey is known as the Black Widow—a woman trapped in a web spun by the demon Teqon. To save her soul, she agreed to deliver to Teqon the heart of the oldest and most powerful Guardian of all, or else be damned for eternity. After more than a hundred years, Teqon is calling in his debt.

Jake Hawkins is a novice Guardian whose gift of teleportation could be invaluable to Alice in determining her next move. But in aligning himself with her he never expected to fall in love. Now, their passionate flight to escape Alice’s damnable bargain is threatening both their souls. For they’re about to discover a hellish secret about the Guardians—something that will change their universe forever.

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Fantasy

Reading order for The Guardians:
  1. Falling for Anthony (from Hot Spell anthology)
  2. Demon Angel
  3. Paradise (from Wild Thing anthology)
  4. Demon Moon
  5. Demon Night
  6. Thicker Than Blood (from First Blood anthology)
  7. Demon BoundMbr>
  8. Demon Forged
  9. Blind Spot (from Must Love Hellhounds
  10. Demon Blood

Read an Excerpt


Demon Bound
(The Guardians: Book 7)
by Meljean Brook

Berkley Pub Group
November 1, 2008
Available: November 4, 2008
ISBN #0425224538
EAN #9780425224533
336 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Meljean Brook

Heart of Steel
Angels of Darkness
Demon Marked
The Iron Duke
Burning Up
Demon Blood
Demon Forged
Must Love Hellhounds
Wild Thing
First Blood
Demon Night
Demon Moon
Demon Angel
Hot Spell

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction