"The shear genius behind the wit and writing still amazes me"

Acheron Parthenopaeus is the famed leader of the Dark Hunters. He is respected, feared, mysterious, and secretive to the extreme. He knows everything about everyone yet few know anything about him. He is tall, dark and to see him is to want him. Despite looking twenty-one, he has an unimaginative depth of knowledge and compassion. The mad, bad, and immortal theme doesn't even begin to cover Ash.

Acheron, the book, is actually two books in one cover. The beginning takes you back to ancient Atlantis where Ash's life began. Cursed by his own father, a god, to die, his mother tries to protect him by sending him into the human world to live as one of them. Little did she know the pain and suffering he would be made to live with there. For those that have followed the Dark Hunter series, the beginning of this book is not the typical sarcastic, dry witted, up tempo books we are used to. It is honest straight, forward, and blunt. The things that happened to the man we have come to adore over the years were horrific and they are depicted as such. That being said, personally I'm glad the Mrs. Kenyon wrote it this way because to have made light of it would have in so many ways ruined it and taken away the importance of Ash's past and the way it has shaped the being he has become. The second part of the book brings us back to present day and is in every way a Dark Hunter novel. The dry sense of humors are back in full force and will have you laughing out loud despite trying not to look insane in a crowd. The shear genius behind the wit and writing still amazes me and I've been following the series for years now. The stroke of genius over the Sprite scene astounds me and I will never be able to look at a Sprite again without bursting into laughter.

The book introduces us to many new characters that are setting us up for the next part of the series, but for those that have read it, many of our favorites make appearances also. The book is actually the 25th in the series if you count all the anthologies and shorts from the other books. Can it be read before the other books? Sure. Should it be? No. There is no way you can fully appreciate the being that Ash has come to be without seeing him in action in the other books. This is the longest book in the series and well deserving of it. Ms. Kenyon hits another home run with Acheron, a book more than worth the time it takes to read. I waited in line for about four hours to get this book and don't regret it in the least.

Reviewed by Amy Parker
Posted August 31, 2008


A Dark-Hunter Novel



**A PNR Reviewer Top Pick**

From the world of the Dark-Hunters comes the most anticipated book to date...

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron endured a lifetime of hatred. His human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Brought back against his will, he became the sole defender of mankind.

Only it was never that simple...

For centuries, he has fought for our survival and hidden a past he never wants revealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence.

Now his survival, and ours, hinges on hers and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.

War has never been more deadly... or more fun.

Previous Dark Hunter books, in order according to Sherrilyn Kenyon's website:
  1. Fantasy Lover
  2. Night Pleasures
  3. Night Embrace
  4. Dance with the Devil
  5. Kiss of the Night
  6. Night Play
  7. Seize the Night
  8. Sins of the Night
  9. Unleash the Night
  10. Dark Side of the Moon
  11. Devil May Cry
  12. Acheron
  13. One Silent Night
  14. Bad Moon Rising
  15. The Dark Hunter Companion
Novellas from the Dark-Hunter series
  1. Winter Born (in the Stroke of Midnight anthology
  2. Second Chances (in the Exclusive Dark-Hunter Collectible Booklet (St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2005), free giveaway. Also was included in the Dark-Hunter Companion)
  3. A Hard Day's Night-Searcher (in the anthology My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding)
  4. Until Death We Do Part (in the anthology Love At First Bite )
  5. Fear the Darkness (a free e-book)
  6. Shadow of the Moon (in the anthology Dead After Dark

Read an Excerpt


(Dark-Hunters: Book 12)
by Sherrilyn Kenyon

St. Martin's Press
August 1, 2008
Available: August 5, 2008
ISBN #0312362153
EAN #9780312362157
544 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Sherrilyn Kenyon

The Guardian
Born of Shadows
Blood Trinity
No Mercy
Deadly Promises
The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 3
In Other Worlds
Silent Truth
Born of Ice
Born of Fire
Born of Night
Night Pleasures
Knight Of Darkness
Bad Moon Rising
Not That Innocent
Whispered Lies
The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 1
The Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance
Dream Warrior
Dead After Dark
One Silent Night
Blood Lite
Phantom in the Night
Dream Chaser
The Dark-Hunter Companion
Upon The Midnight Clear
Devil May Cry
The Dream Hunter
My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding
Love At First Bite
What Dreams May Come
Dark Side of the Moon
Playing Easy to Get
Unleash the Night
Totally Charmed : Demons, Whitelighters and the Power of 3
What Dreams May Come
Exclusive Dark-Hunter Collectible Booklet
Sins of the Night
Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down
Seize the Night
Stroke of Midnight
Man of My Dreams
Night Play
Kiss Of The Night
Big Guns Out Of Uniform
Midnight Pleasures
Dance with the Devil
Night Embrace
Night Pleasures
Fantasy Lover
Naughty Or Nice?
Fire and Ice
Born Of The Night
Born of the Night

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction