"this is a story that needs to be read slowly, savoured and enjoyed"

Eleven Thousand years ago a god was born and cursed into the body of a human. Acheron spent his life in pain and shame but his death nearly destroyed the world. To stop the destruction of everything he was brought back to life against his will. Acheron now uses this second chance to defend mankind, look after the Dark-Hunters and forget his past.

However hiding the past isn't simple and when Acheron hears of yet another archaeologist who thinks they have found Atlantis he is there to make sure the claim isn't true. Little does he know that this time the truth is close to being found. Suddenly Acheron is helping the archaeologist so he can keep everything a secret. Not only must he keep things under wraps for himself but for the whole of mankind.

After all the hype, reading this newest and biggest part in the Dark-Hunter series was something that needed to be done as soon as possible. However while reading this newest edition to the series I had to ask myself - Was it worth the hype? My answer? Sure it was and I wasn't expecting anything else. However for anyone who hasn't followed this series you need to go and read the rest before you get to the ultimate best. Sure this could stand alone, like all the Dark Hunter novels, but Acheron is much better if you know the rest of the history and the reasons this story has finally been told.

I love Kenyon's Dark-Hunter series and have followed it religiously since I found it. Anyone who hasn't tried this series yet should go out and get one asap but just don't spoil things by reading Acheron first. Acheron was amazing but nothing more or less than the previous books in this series. The only things that made it special was its size and its leading male.

The first half of the book centers on Acheron's life as a human and is told from the perspective of his sister and then his own. Not written in the style Dark-Hunter fans are used to, this was of course a big part of the story and set the way for the second half of the book. The second half was of course a Dark-Hunter story about Ash himself. Set in the present with all the Dark-Hunter people, places etc. Finally we see Ash get what he deserves.

All in all this 12th book in the series was an amazing read and even though it is a little bigger than usual, it was the best yet. I needed nearly 2 days to read this and I am a fast reader. However this is a story that needs to be read slowly, savoured and enjoyed. This is Kenyon's ultimate work and I am curious to see how she will ever manage to top it. However I also have to say that the hype was over the top. Way too much press for a book that would only interest the fans and a book that can not and should not be read by readers new to the series.

Oh and I loved the Sprite scene. Anyone who has read this already will know what I mean :)

Reviewed by Amber Chalmers
Posted August 31, 2008


A Dark-Hunter Novel



**A PNR Reviewer Top Pick**

From the world of the Dark-Hunters comes the most anticipated book to date...

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron endured a lifetime of hatred. His human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Brought back against his will, he became the sole defender of mankind.

Only it was never that simple...

For centuries, he has fought for our survival and hidden a past he never wants revealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence.

Now his survival, and ours, hinges on hers and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.

War has never been more deadly... or more fun.

Previous Dark Hunter books, in order according to Sherrilyn Kenyon's website:
  1. Fantasy Lover
  2. Night Pleasures
  3. Night Embrace
  4. Dance with the Devil
  5. Kiss of the Night
  6. Night Play
  7. Seize the Night
  8. Sins of the Night
  9. Unleash the Night
  10. Dark Side of the Moon
  11. Devil May Cry
  12. Acheron
  13. One Silent Night
  14. Bad Moon Rising
  15. The Dark Hunter Companion
Novellas from the Dark-Hunter series
  1. Winter Born (in the Stroke of Midnight anthology
  2. Second Chances (in the Exclusive Dark-Hunter Collectible Booklet (St. Martin's Paperbacks, 2005), free giveaway. Also was included in the Dark-Hunter Companion)
  3. A Hard Day's Night-Searcher (in the anthology My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding)
  4. Until Death We Do Part (in the anthology Love At First Bite )
  5. Fear the Darkness (a free e-book)
  6. Shadow of the Moon (in the anthology Dead After Dark

Read an Excerpt


(Dark-Hunters: Book 12)
by Sherrilyn Kenyon

St. Martin's Press
August 1, 2008
Available: August 5, 2008
ISBN #0312362153
EAN #9780312362157
544 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Sherrilyn Kenyon

The Guardian
Born of Shadows
Blood Trinity
No Mercy
Deadly Promises
The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 3
In Other Worlds
Silent Truth
Born of Ice
Born of Fire
Born of Night
Night Pleasures
Knight Of Darkness
Bad Moon Rising
Not That Innocent
Whispered Lies
The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 1
The Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance
Dream Warrior
Dead After Dark
One Silent Night
Blood Lite
Phantom in the Night
Dream Chaser
The Dark-Hunter Companion
Upon The Midnight Clear
Devil May Cry
The Dream Hunter
My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding
Love At First Bite
What Dreams May Come
Dark Side of the Moon
Playing Easy to Get
Unleash the Night
Totally Charmed : Demons, Whitelighters and the Power of 3
What Dreams May Come
Exclusive Dark-Hunter Collectible Booklet
Sins of the Night
Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down
Seize the Night
Stroke of Midnight
Man of My Dreams
Night Play
Kiss Of The Night
Big Guns Out Of Uniform
Midnight Pleasures
Dance with the Devil
Night Embrace
Night Pleasures
Fantasy Lover
Naughty Or Nice?
Fire and Ice
Born Of The Night
Born of the Night

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction