"A Great beginning to an intriguing Fantasy series, each to involve a romance as well"

The Immortals are five brothers, sons of one aspect of the Goddess and mortal priests. Their mission to keep life magic and death magic in balance, for if one should become stronger than the other the world would become unmade. It is their charge to answer "the calling" when needed, to restore that balance. But the calling had not been heard in seven hundred years, not since Tain had been taken.

Adrian was the oldest of the brothers, born in ancient Egypt to the mother Goddess aspect of Isis. He had not seen any of his brother in all of those years since Tain had disappeared. It was Tain, the youngest who he had felt the closest to and it was his fault Tain had been captured. Adian had gone off to fight the Unseelies alone. Tain had fallen in love with a woman and had chosen to stay with her. While Adrian was gone she had slain the humans and taken Tain. She was a demon, an "Old One" filled with powerful death magic. He had not found a trace of Tain in seven centuries but he heard him crying for help, bemoaning his brother's betrayal in his dreams.

It had happened again but this time the demon had followed the dream back to Adrian. Adrian had been prepared for the battle but then a woman's cry had distracted the demon and it had followed her instead.

Four months later, Adrian traces the cry to a warehouse in Seattle. There he finds Amber Silverthorne, a young, beautiful, and courageous witch taking refuge in a circle of protection as the demon attacks. His dream had not been of her but of her sister Susan, a powerful white witch who had summoned the demon four months earlier and been killed for the effort. A grieving Amber had attempted to retrace her steps hoping to find a clue that would reveal the murderer. It had worked a little too well. And then the warrior had arrived.....

After dispatching the demon temporarily, Adrian follows Amber home hoping to find clues to his brother's whereabouts. In one of Susan's journal they find ancient writings that once translated could provide the necessary clue. The demon distracts them by sending his minions to attach her home. Susan's tampering with death magic had weakened generations of wards on the house and the two flee to Adrian's home in LA.

There they call on Adrian's associates for assistance. These include an Ancient vampire, Septimus who like all undead are death magic creatures and a dragon Valerian. Amber's best friend Sabina, a werewolf (light magic creatures) follows to look after her friend. The demon follows them there, confronting Amber in Septimus' club. Adrian dispatches it once again but not before Amber's truth spell wrenches a clue from it. Ice.

At last Amber decodes the script in Susan's journal, taking them to the frozen north and a cave deep beneath the ice. Tain had been there, trapped for hundreds of years. Adrian and Amber can feel his pain. They now realize that they've been lured into a trap, that the demon had killed Susan and brought them together for a purpose. Adrian had fallen for Amber hard, just as he had planned. The demon had one Immortal and now he wanted two. He would force Adrian to make an impossible choice, his brother or the woman he loved. But the together the pair is strong and the Goddess has plans of her own.

The demon is strong as well and has Tain in its' thrall. Tain only wants to end his pain, even if it means destroying the world along with him. The pair now realizes that they need help from all the Immortals. But the calling hasn't been used in seven hundred years and has all but been forgotten. Somehow they must find the words and on a night of power summon Adrian's brothers to them. But would they answer THE CALLING?

This story is not for the faint of heart. Tain is well and truly ensorcelled by the demon who he both loves and hates. He willingly submits to unthinkable torture and lives only to end his pain. He will betray anyone to do so, even his brother. He hopes by forcing his brother to feel that pain, loving and losing Amber, that Adrian will help him to unmake the world, so that he can finally die. The Immortals is an ongoing series written by four different authors. The next three titles involve Adrian's brothers Darius, Kalen and Hunter. These are THE DARKENING, THE AWAKENING, and THE GATHERING. A second four book series will begin with Tain's story THE REDEEMING coming in September 2008.

THE CALLING definitely does its job, pulling the reader into the pair's love story while giving them enough of a glimpse of the big picture to entice them to read on and see how the other brothers come in to play. I can't wait to see how they garner the reader's sympathy for Tain who at the moment is not the least bit sympathetic, and that is saying something considering that what the demon is doing to him is so dreadful we really should feel badly for him, but don't.

This story is an excellent blend of fantasy and romance, and makes vampires, demons, werewolves, dragons, vampires and the Coven of Light (hereditary witches) seem like a natural part of the contemporary world. The quest continues.

Reviewed by Leslie Tramposch
Posted August 13, 2008


The Calling begins a saga of magic and adventure and sexy romance of four bad-boy Immortals warriors and the witches who must find them and persuade them to help conquer a new evil . . . an Immortal warrior gone rogue.

While investigating the murder of her sister, Amber is rescued from a demon attack by Adrian, a leather-coated, sword-toting warrior.

He reveals that he is one of the Immortals, created at the dawn of civilization to protect humanity from Death Magic.

Together they discover that the demon is an Old One, determined to drain life from the world, and he's convinced Tain, the youngest Immortal, to turn on his brothers and help him.

The only way to stop them is to gather the remaining Immortals in one place--but the spell to do it has been lost, and the Immortals no longer want to play nice...

Other books in the series:

Book 1: The Calling by Jennifer Ashley
Book 2: The Darkening by Robin T. Popp
Book 3: The Awakening by Joy Nash
Book 4: The Gathering by Jennifer Ashley
Book 5: The Redeeming by Jennifer Ashley
Book 6: The Crossing by Joy Nash
Book 7: The Haunting by Robin T. Popp - October 2008
Book 8: The Reckoning (anthology) by Jennifer Ashley, Joy Nash, Robin T. Popp - March 2009

Read an Excerpt


The Calling
(The Immortals: Book 1)
by Jennifer Ashley

Love Spell
May 1, 2007
Available: May 1, 2007
ISBN #0505526875
EAN #9780505526878
384 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Jennifer Ashley

Wild Cat
Primal Bonds
Pride Mates
The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2
A Christmas Ball
The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie
The Reckoning
The Redeeming
Highlander Ever After
The Gathering
The Mad, Bad Duke
Just One Sip
Penelope & Prince Charming
Christmas Cards from the Edge
Confessions Of A Lingerie Addict
The Care and Feeding of Pirates
The Pirate Hunter
The Pirate Next Door
The Pirate Next Door
Perils of the Heart

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction