"The master of horror, humor and bit of romance ... a must read!"

Odd Thomas is a twenty-year old short order cook who can see dead people. He can also see what he calls the "bodachs" which are shadowy spirits attracted to horrible acts of violence. He's in love with his perfect match, Stormy Llewellyn who knows all about Odd's special talents. They are destined to be together—or so the fortuneteller's card tells them.

When he notices that a man he's dubbed "Fungus Man" has a horde of bodachs surrounding him and there is an abundance of them in the neighborhood, he is convinced a violent act is about to be committed. He takes it upon himself to stop the tragic outcome.

I love Dean Koontz's tales. He's the master of weaving horror, humor and a bit of romance all into one, making you fall in love with the characters. Stormy and Odd's relationship is tender and sweet. You'll love Little Ozzie (who isn't so little) and even the ghost of Elvis is added welcome. You'll laugh, you'll hope and cry. A must read.

This is the first of four books. I can't wait to read Forever Odd, Brother Odd and the newest, Odd Hours in bookstores May 20, 2008.

Reviewed by: Karen Michelle Nutt, author

Reviewed by Karen Michelle Nutt
Posted May 5, 2008


“The dead don't talk. I don't know why.” But they do try to communicate, with a short-order cook in a small desert town serving as their reluctant confidant. Odd Thomas thinks of himself as an ordinary guy, if possessed of a certain measure of talent at the Pico Mundo Grill and rapturously in love with the most beautiful girl in the world, Stormy Llewellyn. Maybe he has a gift, maybe it’s a curse, Odd has never been sure, but he tries to do his best by the silent souls who seek him out. Sometimes they want justice, and Odd’s otherworldly tips to Pico Mundo's sympathetic police chief, Wyatt Porter, can solve a crime. Occasionally they can prevent one. But this time it's different.

A mysterious man comes to town with a voracious appetite, a filing cabinet stuffed with information on the world's worst killers, and a pack of hyena-like shades following him wherever he goes. Who the man is and what he wants, not even Odd’s deceased informants can tell him. His most ominous clue is a page ripped from a day-by-day calendar for August 15.

Today is August 14.

In less than twenty-four hours, Pico Mundo will awaken to a day of catastrophe. As evil coils under the searing desert sun, Odd travels through the shifting prisms of his world, struggling to avert a looming cataclysm with the aid of his soul mate and an unlikely community of allies that includes the King of Rock 'n' Roll. His account of two shattering days when past and present, fate and destiny converge is the stuff of our worst nightmares—and a testament by which to live: sanely if not safely, with courage, humor, and a full heart that even in the darkness must persevere.


Odd Thomas
(Odd Thomas series: Book 1)
by Dean Koontz

December 1, 2003
Available: December 9, 2003
ISBN #0553802496
EAN #9780553802498
399 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Dean Koontz

Odd Hours
The Darkest Evening of the Year
Brother Odd
Forever Odd
Frankenstein: Prodigal Son
The Taking
The Face
By the Light of the Moon
One Door From Heaven

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction