"Erotic Fantasy to Die For!"

We paranormal romance readers have been blessed this year with quite a few good books, as well as a few excellent beginnings to new series. This is one of the best that 1999 and 2000 has given us. This series has it all. Romance, shapechangers, vampires, witches, intrigue everything a paranormal romance reader could ask for. This is part three to the series. Erihn goes out with Shai and a few friends to have dinner, a few drinks and listen to poetry. Prior to getting up on stage to recite her poems Erihn sees Shai's husband and his buddy Fayne at the bar. Fayne is immediately physically attracted to Erhin. While Erihn is reading her poem Fayne comes up onto the stage and gives her a very seductive kiss in front of the whole establishment. Normally being a very withdrawn and inhibited person something comes over Erihn and she returns his kiss with a passion she didn't know she possessed. After the kiss and poem is over Erihn is so embarrassed that she runs off stage, heads for home.

Being a romance author Erihn goes up to friends house in the mountains to get some peace and quiet so she can contemplate the writing of her sequel to her last book, which was about a were-cat. Problem is she can't get her mind off of the man who kissed her. She fantasizes about him while she is in the hot tub. She can't get over how sexy and attractive he is or the fact that he kissed her or how she response to that kiss. Erihn's physical attraction to this man was something she thought she was incapable of feeling.

Erihn gets a big surprise when Fayne shows up and announces he's been living at the house off and on. Having been kidnapped, raped physically mutilated by a madman Erihn has a very great fear of being in a house alone with a man. Unfortunately when she is ready to leave there is a storm and a mudslide barring her way, so she is forced to stay awhile longer. The first night Erihn spends in the house with Fayne she wakes up next to what she thinks is Fayne's' pet cougar, although she has no idea that it's actually Fayne.

Fayne has never been as attracted to a female as he is to Erihn. He sets about seducing her every chance he gets. Fayne eventually gets Erihn to start trusting him and they fall into lust then love. Up until a madman and a vampire show up Erihn is living every woman's fantasy.

The eroticism of Erihn's fantasies and her reality are something every woman would die for. The ending has a great twist and Fayne is more then any woman could wish for. This is definitely a must read. I will be waiting impatiently for the next book in the series.

Carol Castellanos/ March, 2000
Copyright 2000 for PNR Reviews
(Review also sent to Simegen/ SFFP Romance / Word Weaving)

This review is based on the original ebook publication(Shameless) by Dreams Unlimited - March 2000

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted December 12, 2001


formerly titled Shameless

A woman whose chances for love were destroyed...a man who could be her savior if it weren't for the child he'd sacrifice everything to protect.

In the heart of Colorado begins a love story that could heal the wounds of years. As Erihn finds the one man who could finally break through the barriers she's erected, Fayne is torn between his desire and his loyalties. As he watches the woman he loves break free from years of self- imposed loneliness, he finds he is the one who is now trapped by his desire, his dark self.

Fate steps in and his secret threatens everyone around them, secrets that lead a bitter enemy to love's door.


Tempt not the Cat
(Shadow Dwellers: Book 3)
by J. C. Wilder

Ellora's Cave
April 1, 2006
Available: April 1, 2006
ISBN #1419905449
EAN #9781419905445
e-Book (reprint)
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
J. C. Wilder

Winter's Daughter
Stone Hearts
Deep Waters
The Power of Love
In the Gloaming
Winter's Daughter
Thief of Hearts
Paradox I
Paradox II
Paradox III
Sins Of The Flesh
One With the Hunger
In Moonlight
Ellora's Cavemen: Tales from the Temple II
The Shadow Dweller Series Volume III
The Shadow Dweller Series Volume II
The Shadow Dweller Series Volume I

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction