"another 5 star adventure with Roarke and Eve"

Eve said "he's never been known to fish in the same pool twice" so there is significance that the serial killer dubbed "the Groom" has returned to NYC. His victim profile is still energetic brunettes, but this time he also is finding them exclusively from Roarke's companies. How long before they recognize the killer's focus is not Roarke, but his cop wife, Eve who fits his victim of choice and was part of the investigating team 9 years ago?

Roarke's perspective of cops has been changing since his marriage and occasional assisting Eve on cases. With this case he is with her from dispatch's first call to the bloody end - no argument this time about working together. For Eve Dallas fans, you will be impressed to learn that Trena is terrified and Sommerfelt is willingly working with Roarke as part of this task force to stop the killer. They've gathered the whole team with a few new faces because this investigation is 24/7 trying to beat the clock and save the latest victim. They're all looking forward to a good night's sleep when this one's solved but for now, Eve is taking departmental approved "stay up" to keep awake. Peabody is overworked enough she begins to babble a comparisons about sex between her & McNab and Eve & Roarke.

This is the 30th book in the Eve Dallas "In Death" Series and another NYPSD Homicidal futuristic investigation. The story of the serial-killer was graphic - dark without crossing into horror. The tale kept its down-to-earth feel as it smoothly included the continued development in Eve & Roarke's personal life as well as their circle of friends and co-workers aka secondary characters.

Susan Ericksen reads the audiobooks with consistancy that makes reruns or rereads a pleasure. This series has become more addictive than a TV episode, the characters develop and I keep coming back for more -- meanwhile, I enjoy the reruns. You can bet I'll be listening to previous "In Death" audiobooks the month before the next book is released (STRANGERS IN DEATH coming March 2008)

Reviewed by Cy Korte
Posted November 23, 2007


NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas keeps the streets of a near-future New York City safe in this extraordinary series. But even she makes mistakes, and is haunted by those she couldn't save-and the killers she couldn't capture. When the body of a young brunette is found in East River Park, artfully positioned and marked by signs of prolonged and painful torture, Eve is catapulted back to a case nine years earlier. The city was on edge from a killing spree that took the lives of four women in fifteen days, courtesy of a man the media tagged "The Groom"-because he put silver rings on the fingers of his victims.

When it turns out that the young brunette was employed by Eve's billionaire husband, Roarke, she brings him in on the case-a move that proves fitting when it becomes chillingly clear that the killer has made his attack personal. The victim was washed in products from a store Roarke owns, and laid out on a sheet his company manufactures.

With the Groom's monstrous return, Eve is determined to finish him once and for all. Familiar with his methods, Eve knows that he has already grabbed his next victim. Time is running out on another woman's life.

And chances are he's working up to the biggest challenge of his illustrious career-abducting a woman who will test his skills and who promises to give him days and days of pleasure before she dies: Eve.

Reading order of IN DEATH series:

    1. Naked in Death (1995)
    2. Glory in Death (1995)
    3. Immortal in Death (1996)
    4. Rapture in Death (1996)
    5. Ceremony In Death (1997)
    6. Vengeance in Death (1997)
    7. Holiday in Death (1998)
    8. Midnight in Death (1998) (in Silent Night)
    9. Conspiracy in Death (1999)
    10. Loyalty in Death (1999)
    11. Witness in Death (2000)
    12. Judgment in Death (2000)
    13. Betrayal in Death (2001)
    14. Interlude in Death (2001) (in Out of This World)
    15. Seduction in Death (2001)
    16. Reunion In Death (2002)
    17. Purity in Death (2002)
    18. Portrait in Death (2003)
    19. Imitation in Death (2003)
    20. Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
    21. Divided in Death (2004)
    22. Visions in Death (2004)
    23. Survivor in Death (2005)
    24. Origin in Death (2005)
    25. Memory in Death (2006)
    26. Haunted in Death (2006) (in Bump in the Night)
    27. Born in Death (2006)
    28. Innocent in Death (2007)
    29. Eternity in Death (2007) (in Dead of Night)
    30. Creation in Death (2007)
    31. Strangers in Death (2008)
    32. Ritual in Death (2008) (in Suite 606)
    33. Salvation In Death (2008)
    34. Promises in Death (2009)
    35. Kindred in Death (2009)
    36. Missing in Death (2009) (in The Lost)
    37. Fantasy in Death (2010)
    38. Indulgence in Death (2010)
    39. Treachery in Death (2011)
    Big Jack (2010)


Creation in Death
(In Death: Book 30)
by J. D. Robb

November 1, 2007
Available: November 6, 2007
ISBN #0399154361
EAN #9780399154362
352 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
J. D. Robb

Time of Death
Treachery in Death
Indulgence in Death
Fantasy in Death
Kindred in Death
The Lost
Promises in Death
Salvation in Death
Suite 606
Strangers in Death
Three In Death anthology
Dead of Night
Innocent in Death
Born in Death
Memory in Death
Bump in the Night
Origin In Death
Survivor in Death
Imitation in Death
Visions in Death
Remember When
Naked in Death
Witness in Death
Loyalty in Death
Divided in Death
Conspiracy in Death
Remember When
Portrait in Death
Purity In Death
Reunion In Death
Seduction In Death
Out Of This World
Betrayal in Death
Judgment in Death
Silent Night
Holiday in Death
Vengeance in Death
Ceremony in Death
Rapture in Death
Immortal in Death
Glory in Death
Naked in Death

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction