"Powerful entry in a fine romantic fantasy series"

In Pine Creek, Maine, businessman Matt Gregor enters the art gallery owned by sisters Winter and Megan McKeage. He buys "Moon Watcher" and asks her as the artist if she would paint a picture of a home for him that he will have constructed on Bear Mountain, which he now owns. Winter worries that her elderly friend Talking Tom who lives in a cabin on the mountain will be displaced so she agrees if he allows Tom to stay.

Father Daar informs Grey, who he brought forward eight centuries, that his tree of life is dying and only Winter can save it. He wants to train her to be a Druid to kill his long time enemy Curam who he believes is killing his tree; if the tree dies, the earth will die too. However, Daar insists she must remain a virgin or lose her power; he may be too late as she loves Matt, who she has been seeing for the last couple of weeks though she still knows little about him.

The attraction between the lead couple is terrific as they grip the audience throughout like when Matt knows while conducting business in Utah that Winter needs him now on the New England mountaintop. The amazing and fabulous twists will shock and entertain the audience while refreshing a tale enhanced by the return of stars from the previous novels playing critical roles. Though the use of the tree dying was a prime theme in a previous tale (see TEMPTING THE HIGHLANDER) and a wonderful twist involving Tom lacks motive, fans will cherish this powerful entry in a fine romantic fantasy series.

Reviewed by Harriet Klausner
Posted August 16, 2005

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted December 18, 2006


Can fiery Winter MacKeage resist the hot, passionate pursuit of a timeless warrior?

She must choose between her destiny...and her desire.

As soon as Pine Creek's new mystery man steps into her art gallery, Winter MacKeage is intrigued. This sexy stranger, Matt Gregor, wants her to do some drawings of his dream house. And with his tiger-gold eyes and masculine charm, he's impossible to resist. But so is Winter's Scottish heritage. As the seventh MacKeage daughter, she must embrace her true magical calling...and deny her mortal desires. Soon Winter is heating up in Matt's strong arms and her fiery heart is torn. Can she give up the destiny she was born to fulfill for the only man she's ever truly loved?

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Time Travel


Only With a Highlander
(Highlander series: Book 5)
by Janet Chapman

Simon & Schuster (Pocket Books)
October 1, 2005
Available: September 27, 2005
ISBN #0743486323
EAN #9780743486323
384 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Janet Chapman

Spellbound Falls
Mystical Warrior
Dragon Warrior
Ladies Prefer Rogues
A Highlander Christmas
Moonlight Warrior
Tempting the Highlander
The Seductive Imposter
Wedding the Highlander
Loving the Highlander
Charming the Highlander

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction