"outstanding futuristic police procedural thriller"

In the year 2059 two intruders break into the home of the Swisher family, killing the parents, the son, their daughter's friend, and their nanny. The daughter Nixie survived because she went downstairs to get a drink and hid when she saw a man kill her nanny and saw the men go upstairs to kill her family and friend.

When New York Police and Security Department Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her partner Detective Delia Peabody arrives at the scene, Eve deduces that one person remains unaccounted for amidst the tragedy. She searches the home until she finds Nixie hiding in the bathroom. She feels that the frightened traumatized little girl remains in danger so she brings the lass home with her to keep her safe until she can bring the animals that did the heinous crimes to justice. When a social service worker is snatched in daylight, Eve knows the killers are on the move so she sets a trap that backfires with two officers dead. Now the entire department wants these killers caught preferably dead.

Once again J.D. Robb provides an outstanding futuristic police procedural thriller that is loaded with action but contains the author's usual dose of romance. Readers will enjoy observing Eve and her billionaire husband Roark deal with hardened criminals without a second thought, but are deathly afraid of Nixie. SURVIVOR IN DEATH is one of the better books in a terrific series because Eve seems more vulnerable as she feels her latest assignment is the worst ever because it involves children and she struggles to relate to a child who has lost everything. Ms. Robb is one of the best writers of inter-crossing mystery, romance, and science fiction into top quality tales.

Reviewed by Harriet Klausner
Posted December 7, 2004

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted November 27, 2006


The members of the Swisher family were murdered in their beds with brutal, military precision. The state-of-the-art security was breached, and the killers used night-vision equipment to find their way through the cozy, middle-class house. Clearly, Dallas is dealing with pros. It seems the only mistake they made was to overlook the nine-year-old girl cowering in the darkened kitchen.

Now Nixie Swisher is an orphan—and the sole eyewitness to a seemingly inexplicable crime. Kids are not Dallas's strong suit. But Nixie needs a safe place to stay, and Dallas needs to solve this case. With her partner, Peabody, back on the job—and her husband, Roarke, providing the kind of help that only he can give—Lieutenant Eve Dallas is running after shadows, and dead-set on finding out who's behind them.

Genre: Police Procedural, Mystery, Futuristic

Reading order of IN DEATH series:

    1. Naked in Death (1995)
    2. Glory in Death (1995)
    3. Immortal in Death (1996)
    4. Rapture in Death (1996)
    5. Ceremony In Death (1997)
    6. Vengeance in Death (1997)
    7. Holiday in Death (1998)
    8. Midnight in Death (1998) (in Silent Night)
    9. Conspiracy in Death (1999)
    10. Loyalty in Death (1999)
    11. Witness in Death (2000)
    12. Judgment in Death (2000)
    13. Betrayal in Death (2001)
    14. Interlude in Death (2001) (in Out of This World)
    15. Seduction in Death (2001)
    16. Reunion In Death (2002)
    17. Purity in Death (2002)
    18. Portrait in Death (2003)
    19. Imitation in Death (2003)
    20. Remember When (2003) (with Nora Roberts)
    21. Divided in Death (2004)
    22. Visions in Death (2004)
    23. Survivor in Death (2005)
    24. Origin in Death (2005)
    25. Memory in Death (2006)
    26. Haunted in Death (2006) (in Bump in the Night)
    27. Born in Death (2006)
    28. Innocent in Death (2007)
    29. Eternity in Death (2007) (in Dead of Night)
    30. Creation in Death (2007)
    31. Strangers in Death (2008)
    32. Ritual in Death (2008) (in Suite 606)
    33. Salvation In Death (2008)
    34. Promises in Death (2009)
    35. Kindred in Death (2009)
    36. Missing in Death (2009) (in The Lost)
    37. Fantasy in Death (2010)
    38. Indulgence in Death (2010)
    39. Treachery in Death (2011)
    Big Jack (2010)


Survivor in Death
(In Death: Book 23)
by J. D. Robb

January 1, 2005
Available: January 27, 2005
ISBN #0399152083
EAN #9780399152085
384 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
J. D. Robb

Time of Death
Treachery in Death
Indulgence in Death
Fantasy in Death
Kindred in Death
The Lost
Promises in Death
Salvation in Death
Suite 606
Strangers in Death
Three In Death anthology
Creation in Death
Dead of Night
Innocent in Death
Born in Death
Memory in Death
Bump in the Night
Origin In Death
Imitation in Death
Visions in Death
Remember When
Naked in Death
Witness in Death
Loyalty in Death
Divided in Death
Conspiracy in Death
Remember When
Portrait in Death
Purity In Death
Reunion In Death
Seduction In Death
Out Of This World
Betrayal in Death
Judgment in Death
Silent Night
Holiday in Death
Vengeance in Death
Ceremony in Death
Rapture in Death
Immortal in Death
Glory in Death
Naked in Death

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction