"Eternal witch finds friendship and love"

If you like the TV series "HIGHLANDER" and if you like witches with supernatural powers, you will LOVE this book! Maggie Shayne has conjured an exciting tale of love and fantasy.

Her mother was a practitioner of "the Craft of the Wise"... she was a witch and so was Raven, but until her mother's death, she did not realize she was special... destined to be immortal... a High Witch. Raven St. James was born with a crescent moon birthmark on her right hip. She learned later that there were two kinds of High witches... dark and light. A dark witch has the crescent moon on the left hip and gained their power from removing the heart of the light witch and using it's power; so Raven has to be on guard.

When she escaped to the new world and met Arianna, Raven St. James was cautious, but learned that not only was Arianna a light High witch... she was Raven's sister. Arianna taught Raven all that she could but the warning "trust no one" was strong. Raven could not fully trust Duncan (yes, he's from Scotland) even though she loved him. In the clash between dark High witch Nathanial and Raven, Duncan died trying to save her. This act would insure that he would be reincarnated as a light High witch... but Raven had to wait 300 years to be reunited with her true love in 1998.

Nathanial had other plans. He conspired to adopt the boy, Duncan. When Raven and Duncan meet as adults, Duncan must decide between "his father" and this crazy woman who tells him she is an immortal witch that he loved in a former life and that "his father" is trying to kill her and take her heart.


Of course you know there is a HEA; so it is no surprise that Nathanial is killed and his heart removed. As he dies, he whispers a secret to Duncan... "Return the hearts". Duncan does this and Arianna is restored. Arianna then takes the other hearts and begins her quest to restore them, because one of them belongs to her own true love. This is the sequel story coming in October... INFINITY. I ALREADY ORDERED THE BOOK! I just HAVE to see more of these characters!

Reviewed by Cy Korte
Posted November 12, 2001


Three hundred years ago, the good citizens of Sanctuary believed there was a Witch in their midst...

Her name was Raven St. James, a woman whose unearthly beauty and beguiling charms inspired rumors of Witchcraft. Only one man tried to save her from the hangman's noose -- Duncan, the town minister, who thought it strange that anyone could acuse this lovely and vibrant woman of anything wicked. Stranger still was the fact that Raven was a Witch. And even though she held the power to save herself, she could not rescue Duncan -- who died trying to help her...

Three hundred years later, the immortal Witch searches for the one soul who truly loved her...

At last, after centuries of loneliness and longing, Raven has found him. Her precious Duncan has returned -- reborn in the body of a man who has no memory of the past they shared. Yet Raven knows that the heart can never forget true passion. Their souls are destined to be together. But as Duncan reawakens to the power of Raven's love, so too does the evil that tore them apart three hundred years ago. Now Raven and Duncan must prove their love -- for all enternity...

Author Interview


(Immortal Witches: Book 1)
by Maggie Shayne

December 1, 1998
Available: December 1, 1998
ISBN #0515124079
EAN #9780515124071
352 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Maggie Shayne

Twilight Fulfilled
Vacation with a Vampire…and Other Immortals
Kiss Me, Kill Me
Heart of Darkness
Night's Edge
Wild Thing
Angel's Pain
Weddings From Hell
Lover's Bite
Immortal Desire
Demon's Kiss
Eternal Love
An Enchanted Season
Moon Fever
Sheer Pleasure
Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered
Totally Charmed : Demons, Whitelighters and the Power of 3
Darker Than Midnight
Edge of Twilight
Prince of Twilight
Kick Ass
Blue Twilight
Man of My Dreams
Night's Edge
Hot Blooded
Thicker Than Water
Midnight Pleasures
Enemy Mind
Broken Silence
Two by Twilight
Embrace the Twilight
Words of the Witches
Twilight Hunger
At Twilight
Brand-new Heartache
Wings In The Night
The Gingerbread Man
Out Of This World
Witch Moon Rising, Witch Moon Waning
Veils of Time
Brides of the Night
Born In Twilight

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction