"A fantastic conclusion to a great series!"

Isadora is without her sisters for the first time in her life, and a slave in the Emperor Sebestyen's strange and formidable palace. Having killed two men, she finds her magic all but gone. Acting as Empress Liane's personal witch, she decides to choose to protect Liane in order to try and regain the power she has lost.

Having lost her first husband Willym to the Fyne Curse, Isadora refuses to ever love another man. However when Lucan Hern from the Circle of Bacwyr visits the palace, Isadora becomes Sebestyens pawn. Forced to go to Lucan bed, it is his gentleness that eventually melts the hard shell around her heart, but she dare not fall in love for Isadora doesn't think she could survive loosing another man to the curse.

The rebels are growing stronger and threaten the safety of the Empress Liane and her unborn children. Having sworn to protect her, Isadora hopes to be able to help her deliver the children and then sneak out of the place. Only getting thrown into the pit of Level thirteen changes her plans as well as Lucans.

Lucan is at the palace for dual reasons: first to decide if his brother should be able to marry his pregnant mistress and secondly but the more important reason, to regain the Star of Bacwyr -- and he thinks he has found it on Isadora's finger.

Linda Winstead Jones has written an awesome conclusion to the WITCH sisters trilogy. In the final installment, she still masterfully juggles the lives of the three sisters as well as the events around Liane who has become a very important character to me.

Emperor Sebestyen surprised me as a character the way he developed into a person. I would actually like Liane to have her own story, but this may just be wishful thinking of a reader.

Isadora has had a lot of tragedy in her life as well as the responsibility of her two younger sisters. She is a very strong woman, and I think that being forced to do the will of another was probably good for her because she ended up with Lucan. A man, strong of character who wanted her to really come to him of her own free will so he didn't abuse her. Instead he was able to reawaken Isadora as a woman rather than just a living human.

THE STAR WITCH was an excellent book in a fantastic series. Honestly, I think my favorite was the second book, but that may also have something to do with the fact that this is the end and I don't like having a good story reach its conclusion! I would highly recommend reading this trilogy in order because each book does build one the previous.

Posted March 2, 2006

Reviewed by Cynthia Eckert
Posted November 20, 2006


She's steeled her heart against love. But it's in the stars...

The Sun Witch and The Moon Witch introduced the Fyne sisters, three witches coming into their own. Here, the eldest wonders how she can remain chaste with a sensuous enemy tempting her...

Some say the Circle of Bacwyr is a myth--and practical Isadora, a young, widowed attendant to the Empress, numbers among them. But for Captain Lucan Hern, the powerful Circle is as real as the daggers he hides under his clothing. The warrior was raised solely to find—and capture—the elusive Star of Bacwyr. But his teachers never told him exactly what it was. They only made one thing clear. Stay away from witches...

Sounds easy enough. Then Lucan meets Isadora, a decidedly different kind of beauty. She is oblivious to his attraction – while he is equally oblivious to the fact that she's a witch. And he believes her ring is the Star he's been searching for.

Isadora has slept in a cold bed these long years but the arrival of this gorgeous creature sets her body afire. And after a lifetime of searching for the Star, Lucan all but forgets it, waiting for Isadora to give herself to him freely, when he will take her beyond her wildest dreams...


The Star Witch
(Fyne Witch: Book 3)
by Linda Winstead Jones

Berkley Pub Group (Sensation)
January 1, 2006
Available: January 3, 2006
ISBN #0425201287
EAN #9780425201282
336 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Linda Winstead Jones

Christmas with a Vampire
Last of the Ravens
Holiday with a Vampire III
Bride By Command
22 Nights
The Magical Christmas Cat
Raintree: Haunted
Prince of Swords
Prince of Fire
Prince of Magic
Beyond The Dark
The Moon Witch
The Sun Witch
On Dean's Watch
Clint's Wild Ride
Wilder Days
Love Is Murder
In Bed With Boone
Secret-Agent Sheik
Capturing Cleo
Hot On His Trail
Madigan's Wife

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction