"A unique and intriguing look at the brilliant world created by Ms. Asaro"

Charm Headwind is a young country girl who has never desired anything but to work her family's apple orchards. Unfortunately for her, she was born with impressive mage talents that she needs to keep hidden. If anyone knew just how strong her abilities were she'd have to leave her home and move to the royal palace to be trained. However power like hers can only be hidden for so long and the day comes that Della No-Cozen, Mage to the Royal family, finds Charm and takes her away to learn the ways of the Shape Mages and possibly wed the heir to the throne.

In a matter of months Charm's life is turned upside down. Just as she is starting to settle in to her new role, when she is finally beginning to feel like she fits in, another powerful mage, Iris, is found who holds abilities unlike anyone has ever seen. At the same time, Muller, Charm's betrothed and the former heir, is released from his future position. In the middle of all these changes, a neighboring land's ruler decides time is ripe to overthrow Aronsdale. Now Muller and Charm must use their love and their abilities to help the new king, Muller's cousin, and his young wife Iris to conquer the evil pervading their homeland.

This is a unique and intriguing look at the brilliant world created by Ms. Asaro. The land where power is held by those strongest in the magic of colors and shapes will capture the imaginations of many readers, be they fans of romance or fantasy, or both. The imagery is vivid and readers will be enveloped in the lives and world of the characters. The rules of society are well defined, giving this fantasy the feeling that there could be such a world out there somewhere. Though some aspects of the magic and life found there get confusing at times, by the end of the book, one will understand how things work in Aronsdale.

The players in this saga are brilliantly rendered. Muller feels like he can never measure up and that he is twisted inside, never to be free of the cursed abilities. Charm feels like she will never quite fit in to the elegant life of royalty, being more comfortable climbing trees than learning magic and propriety. These two are set adrift when their world changes. If not for the love they found in each other, they'd be lost. Jarid, the new king, is a tortured man; eaten up with guilt over something he did as a young boy that he could not control. Iris is a simple mountain girl who comes in to her own when she is taken under the wing of Della and the royal advisors.

If readers are looking for a well-told fantasy tale that takes place in a brilliant world of magic, then The Charmed Sphere is for them. The sequel to this book, The Misted Cliffs looks to be a winner as well. So why not run out and purchase both books today?

© Kelley A. Hartsell, July 2005. All rights reserved.
Courtesy Love Romances
Posted October 10, 2005

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted November 20, 2006


What was the use of being a powerful mage if you couldn’t learn the spells?

Once Chime had been the most promising mage in the land, feted and celebrated for her potential and future role in the kingdom. Then Iris, her young competitor, made a stunning leap in skill and turned Chime’s world upside down.

Now no longer the most powerful, no longer promised to a prince - and still unable to harness her magic properly - Chime was set adrift. As was the new king’s cousin - and former heir - Lord Muller. Yet when the neighboring kingdom threatened war, Muller and Chime were tasked with uncovering the plot. Both were flawed, yet unwilling to accept a lesser destiny than they had once known.

Could this quest be the opportunity for redemption - or would it lead them to their deaths?


The Charmed Sphere
(Lost Continent: Book 1)
by Catherine Asaro

February 1, 2004
Available: February 1, 2004
ISBN #037380203X
EAN #9780373802036
462 pages
Trade Size
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Catherine Asaro

Charmed Destinies
Diamond Star
The Ruby Dice
The Night Bird
The Ruby Dice
The Fire Opal
The Dawn Star
The Final Key
The Misted Cliffs
The Journey Home
Sunrise Alley
The Moon's Shadow
Irresitible Forces
Charmed Destinies
The Moon's Shadow
Spherical Harmonic
Spherical Harmonic
Ascendant Sun
The Quantum Rose
The Phoenix Code
The Veiled Web
The Radiant Seas
The Last Hawk
Catch The Lightning
Primary Inversion

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction