"Not as compelling as the previous Donovans"

Unlike the others in the DONOVAN LEGACY, this one did not enchant me. It featured a self-centered hero, a gullible heroine, and a decided lack of plot. The premise was fine but it went nowhere in a big hurry. This Donovan, Liam, is a second cousin to the original Donovans. He has isolated himself in the mountains in order to make a grave decision. He's been requested to take on the mantle of Prince of his people, by his father the current Prince. On the wind comes a message.....Love is coming to Liam. Liam wants no part of love and is determined to make his decision without its influence. In fact he shrewdly determines to use his knowledge of the coming prospect as an excuse for his final decision. You see as prince he must choose another hereditary witch as his mate. If the young woman being sent is not, he can marry her and use her as his excuse to decline. If she should prove to be a witch he can then refuse her, sighting lack of love as his reason to decline. This should give you a pretty good insight into his character already.

The heroine, Rowan, is at a crossroad in her life. Everything in her life has been chosen for her, her career as a teacher, her blasé fiancé. She is dissatisfied convinced that something is missing in her life she retreats to the self same mountains to come to a decision as to the direction her life should now take. This is where she meets Liam.

Liam's gift, among others, is the ability to change form. Taking the shape of his favorite form, a wolf, he scopes out his new neighbor, Rowan. Ever astute he draws the conclusion that she is his prophesized love interest. Rowan is quite taken with the wolf, but no so her enigmatic neighbor, at least at first. Liam attempts to avoid her in his human form while watching over her and learning about her in his wolf form. He crosses the bounds of decency, however, as takes advantage of opportunities to share her bed and watch her bathe. He quickly realizes something that Rowan herself does not know. She too is a hereditary witch. She is unaware because her mother married a mortal and chose not to accept her nature. Rowan's grandmother whom she is named after, was put down as being merely and eccentric old woman.

In spite of himself Liam finds himself wanting to be near her in human form as well. Eventually he feels compelled to reveal her nature to her, and decides that the best way to convince her is to reveal his own. Justifiably appalled by Liam's deceit and the way he has taken advantage of her loving nature, she flees back to her home. She is determined to make the life of her choosing without him, until his mother appears and tells her he is miserable. Rowan naturally swallows her pride and gives him another chance. So what does he do? He admits that he loves her qualifying by stating that he doesn't have to like it, and by the way I decided I want to be prince with or without you.

I don't think the characters ever really connected for me. I wasn't sure they belonged together, nor that I liked them enough to care. I enjoy romances with subplots or intrigue. I like to see the pair working together to a common goal, or against a common foe. Even if they are working at cross- purposes, I like that little niggling in the back of their minds that says, I love this person, why am I doing this? There just was no story here, just two self-involved people who never quite get over themselves. Not a keeper for me.

Copyright © 1999

Reviewed by Leslie Tramposch
Posted May 2, 2001


Nora Robert's Donovan Legacy continues in November 1999 with Enchanted, a brand-new Silhouette Intimate Moments story. Needing to escape her predictable life, teacher Rowan Laine retreats to the wild Oregon woods for a summer, and becomes fascinated by her devastatingly handsome neighbor Liam Donovan.

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Magic, Witche


(Donovan Legacy: Book 4)
by Nora Roberts

November 1, 1999
Available: October 1, 1999
ISBN #0373079613
EAN #9780373079612
251 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Nora Roberts

The Pagan Stone
The Hollow
Blood Brothers
Valley of Silence
Dance of the Gods
Morrigan's Cross
Red Lily
Moon Shadows
Black Rose
Blue Dahlia
Charmed & Enchanted
A Little Magic
Hidden Riches
A Little Fate
Remember When
The Lives and Loves of Four Brothers on the Windswept Shores
Key of Valor
Chesapeake Blue
Key of Light
Key of Knowledge
Once Upon a Midnight
Remember When
Private Scandals
Three Fates
Truly, Madly Manhattan
Table For Two
Midnight Bayou
Chesapeake Blue
Once Upon A Kiss
Face The Fire
Three Fates
The Villa
A Little Magic
Heaven And Earth
Midnight Bayou
Once Upon A Rose
Dance Upon the Air
Rising Tides
Sea Swept
Carolina Moon
The Stanislaski Sisters
Heart of the Sea
Once Upon a Dream
Night Tales
Once Upon A Star
The Donovan Legacy
Inner Harbor
Sacred Sins

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction