ParaNormalRomance.org

REVIEW

"Supernatural action adventure"

On an alternate Earth a bioengineered weapon escaped from a lab, spread around the world killing off a quarter of the world's population. Beings of myth and legend known as Inderlanders because they were immune to the disease held civilization together until the germ died out. Local enforcement was dissolved and the Federal Inderland Bureau was formed to monitor the actions of the Inderlanders. The I.S. was created by out of work Inderlander law enforcement officials to police the supernatural beings.

Rachel works for the I.S. but every case she is sent out on results in failure. She knows her boss Denon hates her so she decides to quit and go freelance. Her friend Ivy, a live vampire, also quits much to Demon's dismay and he calls for Rachel to be assassinated for luring Ivy away. The earth witch is no match for the creatures he sends against her so she decides to find the evidence that will convict Congressman Trent Kalanack for trafficking in Brimstone. If she is successful her contract with the IS is nullified and she is a free woman but Rachel almost gets killed in her attempts to expose the congressman.

Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton, Tonya Huff and Charlaine Harris are going to love DEAD WITCH WALKING, a supernatural action adventure novel set in what feels like a fantasy realm. The gutsy and honorable heroine goes through a lot of perilous adventures to gain her freedom, but uses her earth magic powers as a defensive weapon that won't permanently injure or kill those attacking her. Kim Harrison has the magic touch to enchant her audience with her storytelling while placing a spell that requires reading future books in this series.

Harriet Klausner

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted May 18, 2004

SUMMARY

In the Hollows the vampires come out to play... and it's always witching hour

Rachel Morgan is a runner with the Inderland Runner Services, apprehending law-breakers throughout Cincinnati. She’s also a witch, one of the many Inderlanders who revealed themselves after a genetically engineered virus wiped out 50% of humanity. Witches, warlocks, vampires, werewolves-the creatures of dreams and nightmares have lived beside humans for centuries, hiding their powers. But now they’ve stopped hiding, and nothing will be the same.

On the run with a contract on her head, Rachel reluctantly teams up with Ivy, Inderland’s best runner…and a living vampire. But this witch is way out of her league, and to clear her name, Rachel must evade shapechanging assassins, outwit a powerful businessman/crimelord, and survive a vicious underground fight-to-the-death…not to mention her own roommate!

Fun, sassy, filled with action, humor, and romance, Dead Witch Walking is the perfect summer read for anyone who likes vampires, paranormal fantasy, romance, or just a great beach book.

Read an Excerpt

 

Dead Witch Walking
(The Hollows: Book 1)
by Kim Harrison

Harper Torch
April 1, 2004
Available: April 27, 2004
ISBN #0060572965
EAN #9780060572969
432 pages
Paperback
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Kim Harrison

A Perfect Blood
Pale Demon
Early to Death, Early to Rise
Black Magic Sanction
Unbound
Once Dead, Twice Shy
White Witch, Black Curse
Hotter Than Hell
The Outlaw Demon Wails
Holidays Are Hell
Prom Nights from Hell
For a Few Demons More
A Fistful of Charms
Dates From Hell
Every Which Way But Dead
The Good, the Bad, and the Undead


EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction