"Delightful Scottish medieval romance"

In 1390 Michael Lammergeier returns to Inverfyre, Scotland to fulfill what he believes is his destiny as the Laird, but an ancient crone stops him insisting he is the descendent of Magnus Armstrong, but he is also Magnus Armstrong. She kisses Michael, opening his mind to their past love seven generations back. However, a member of his party kills the crone. Just before she dies she tells him that she loves him and will return, but debts must be paid.

In 1409, Michael now known as the Hawk of Inverfyre needs a bride. He chooses Aileen of Aberyne because his soul firmly believes she is his eternal true love. However, doubts linger about who Aileen is loyal to so though he tricks her into marriage and though he loves her deeply, he does not trust her. He wonders if she will help him fix previous wrongs or sell him and Inverfyre to his enemies; she struggles with her love for her enigmatic mate who she would trust with her life, even though he holds himself back from her.

With a pinch of mysticism, THE WARRIOR, the final book of the Ravensmuir trilogy, is a delightful Scottish medieval romance. The intrigue of the fifteenth century comes alive, but also cleverly blends into a charming forever love subplot. The son of the book's two heroes (see THE SCOUNDREL) Michael is a captivating character struggling between love and uncertainty while Aileen is the ideal complement to his "split personality". Historical romance readers will enjoy this fabulous novel that provides a terrific end to a strong series.

Harriet Klausner

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted February 22, 2004


The Warrior
by Claire Delacroix

Warner Books
February 24, 2004
ISBN #0446611123
400 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Claire Delacroix

The Queen In Winter
To Weave a Web of Magic
The Scoundrel
The Rogue
The Temptress
The Princess

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction