ParaNormalRomance.org

REVIEW

"light, small town regional mystery"

The small rural town of Taneysville in Massachusetts is usually a very quiet place but the residents are now in an uproar over outsider Alex Gordon buying the Quiqley farmhouse. The xenophobic townsfolk don't want an outsider moving in and building more structures on the property. Members of the Trinity Church vestry are afraid the construction equipment will damage the structure of the church and local residents resent the fact that the contractor isn't hiring local people. All building is abruptly halted when a body is unearthed and the skeletal remains are found to be human body.

Forensics tests prove that the remains are that of a woman and that she was murdered. Newcastle private investigator Rosco Polycrates is hired to discover the identity of the woman and the person who killed her. Roscos's wife Belle Graham, a puzzle constructor for the local newspaper is being sent puzzles by a resident n a nursing home and that person seems to have some knowledge of the skeletal remains. While the duo pursue separate investigative paths, somebody torches the Gordon place and while trying to connect the arson to the homicide, Belle and Rosco solve an unrelated double homicide but are totally clueless about the identity of the murder victim.

Mystery fans who like a light, small town regional mystery are going to have a lot of fun reading CORPUS DE CROSSWORD. The crossword puzzles scattered throughout the novel contain the clues that will enable the reader to solve the mystery. The two protagonists make a great investigative team in the tradition of Nick and Nora and their connubial bliss lightens the mood when they hit a bump in the investigation. Nero Blanc is a master when it comes to constructing puzzling mysteries.

Harriet Klausner

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted June 24, 2003

SUMMARY

The strong and growing series returns with a brand-new fill- in-the-blanks puzzler!

Folks in Taneysville, Massachusetts, are furious when a builder decides to develop fifteen acres of their precious land. Then the determined developer is stopped cold in his tracks...not by a demonstration, but by a grisly discovery. The skeletal remains of a young woman have been unearthed by the construction crew. Belle and Rosco are fast on the case. It's not long before anonymous crosswords start pouring in-but even with so many clues, Belle and Rosco find that in this old-fashioned hamlet, not everything is black and white...

 

Corpus de Crossword
by Nero Blanc

Prime Crime
July 1, 2003
ISBN #0425190218
320 pages
Paperback
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Nero Blanc

Anatomy of a Crossword
Corpus de Crossword
A Crossworder's Gift
A Crossworder's Holiday
The Crossword Connection
A Crossword To Die For


EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction