"Strong romantic suspense"

Jake Ingram is a well-known economist who is aiding the FBI in their investigation of the World Bank Heist. The Ingrams adopted Jake at the age of twelve and there is nobody he is closer to than his adopted sibling Zach. Jake has no memories of his life before he was twelve and that problem is why Zach is in so much trouble. Somebody has kidnapped him as he was leaving Glen Laurel University thinking he was his brother, confined him in a deserted farmhouse and drugged him.

The kidnappers told psychiatrist and hypnotist Dr. Maisy Dalton that Jake was brainwashed after being in a cult for over a decade. When Maisy sees Zach for the first time he tries to tell her that he isn't Jake. After seeing how his "family" treats him, she finally believes him and they make their escape. When the kidnappers find them, a battle ensues and only one group will walk away from it alive.

Maggie Shayne always writes a riveting work of romantic suspense but she out does even herself in her latest work ENEMY MIND. The two protagonists are attracted to each other from their first meeting but because of some painful events in her past, she is afraid to act on her feelings. Zach, who always thought he was a wimp compared to Jake, shows that he is a true hero as he defends the woman he loves against those who seek to destroy her. ENEMY MIND is the first installment in what looks to be a great series.

Harriet Klausner

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted May 24, 2003


She's got the wrong brother!

SUBJECT: Zach Ingram, brawny brain, aka Professor Ingram FAMILY HISTORY: The Ingram heir, brother of financial whiz Jake

DEEPEST SECRET: He'd always envied his brother -- until now . . .

Professor Zach Ingram was believed to have classified information about genetically altered humans, and agents from the top secret MEDUSA wanted it enough to kidnap him. But was the iron-willed academic truly the one they sought? Beautiful psychiatrist Dr. Maisy Dalton was unwittingly brought in to hypnotize the ruggedly handsome Zach into talking about the "memories" hidden within him. But the innocent doctor couldn't control her feelings for the mysterious man who spoke of mistaken identity and something called the Extraordinary Five. In her heart, Maisy knew Zach was telling the truth, and was willing to risk her life and love to help him unravel the secrets of MEDUSA and the potentially dangerous X5 . . .


Here is the series in order (c. 2003-2004):
Enemy Mind, by Maggie Shayne
Pyramid of Lies, by Anne Marie Winston
The Player, by Evelyn Vaughn
The Bluewater Affair, by Cindy Gerard
Her Beautiful Assassin, by Virginia Kantra
A Verdict of Love, by Jenna Mills
The Billionaire Drifter, by Beverly Bird
Fever, by Linda Winstead Jones
Blind Attraction, by Myrna Mackenzie
The Parker Project, by Joan Elliott Pickart
The Insider, by Ingrid Weaver
Check Mate, by Beverly Barton


Enemy Mind
(Family Secrets mini-series)
by Maggie Shayne

June 1, 2003
ISBN #0373613687
EAN #9780373613687
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Maggie Shayne

Twilight Fulfilled
Vacation with a Vampire…and Other Immortals
Kiss Me, Kill Me
Heart of Darkness
Night's Edge
Wild Thing
Angel's Pain
Weddings From Hell
Lover's Bite
Immortal Desire
Demon's Kiss
Eternal Love
An Enchanted Season
Moon Fever
Sheer Pleasure
Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered
Totally Charmed : Demons, Whitelighters and the Power of 3
Darker Than Midnight
Edge of Twilight
Prince of Twilight
Kick Ass
Blue Twilight
Man of My Dreams
Night's Edge
Hot Blooded
Thicker Than Water
Midnight Pleasures
Broken Silence
Two by Twilight
Embrace the Twilight
Words of the Witches
Twilight Hunger
At Twilight
Brand-new Heartache
Wings In The Night
The Gingerbread Man
Out Of This World
Witch Moon Rising, Witch Moon Waning
Veils of Time
Brides of the Night
Born In Twilight

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction