"Exciting, Enthralling, Triumphant!"

After spending nearly two decades as a prisoner on Coba, Kelric finally escapes.  However, during his incarceration many changes occurred in his family's Empire.  The Radiance War has left Kelric's kin either dead or imprisoned by the Allied forces of Earth, who now rule the Skolian Empire. The powerful telepathic communication link between Skolian, Eubian, and Aristo has collapsed. Into that void, Kelric, now the heir to the Skolian Empire flees by accepting a job on a merchant vessel, but he is captured by the Aristo, who also holds his brother prisoner. The Aristo plans to use the siblings to open the Lock to the time-space continuum portal that will make them the most powerful beings in the universe. Kelric is the only hope to stop this dastardly plan of universal domination.

ASCENDANT SUN, the fifth novel in Catherine Asaro's fabulous Skolian Empire saga, is an exciting and enthralling work of science fiction. The primary story line is crisp and never slows down for a nanosecond. Kelric is a wonderful hero whose previous struggles (see THE LAST HAWK) seem soft compared to his current troubles. Though newcomers will be lost with the complexities of the tale, they, like series fans, will become gripped by the lightning speed of the action and the radiant vastness of the plot, sending new readers searching for the previous novels. Ms. Asaro continues to rise in ascendancy to the apogee of the science fiction universe with this triumphant novel.

Harriet Klausner

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted August 29, 2001


Kelric returns to Skolian space, only to find the Empire in control of the Allied forces of Earth. With little more than the clothes on his back, he is forced to take work on a merchant vessel, and ends up being sold into slavery.


Ascendant Sun
(Skolian Empire: Book 5)
by Catherine Asaro

Tor Books
February 1, 2001
ISBN #0812566653
EAN #9780812566659
365 pages
Paperback (reprint)
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Catherine Asaro

Charmed Destinies
Diamond Star
The Ruby Dice
The Night Bird
The Ruby Dice
The Fire Opal
The Dawn Star
The Final Key
The Misted Cliffs
The Journey Home
Sunrise Alley
The Moon's Shadow
Irresitible Forces
The Charmed Sphere
Charmed Destinies
The Moon's Shadow
Spherical Harmonic
Spherical Harmonic
The Quantum Rose
The Phoenix Code
The Veiled Web
The Radiant Seas
The Last Hawk
Catch The Lightning
Primary Inversion

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction