"A Story to Relish"

On a poor primitive planet, Governor Kamoj Quanta Argali of the Argali Province worries about the well being of her people. She begins to think that the only way to help them is for her to marry her newest tenant, the strange Havryl Lionstar, who has taken up residence in the old castle. Still, she wonders what Havryl's agenda truly is. He looks physically different and more imposing than anyone she ever met. His behavior is at odds with his apparent role as a leader. Still, somehow he and his cronies have somehow restored the ancient technology that none of Kamoj's people know how to use. As Kamoj thinks of marrying the enigmatic Havryl, she begins to think he wants to control all of Argali. Yet he acts as a person forced to behave the way he does. Who is this weirdo and why is she falling in love with him?

Readers of speculative fiction and futuristic romance will relish THE QUANTUM ROSE. The entertaining story line is filled with action, complex and enjoyable questions about the lead male character, and a well designed who- done-it. Kamoj is also an intriguing protagonist. However, what makes Catherine Asaro's novel worth buying is the fully descriptive universe that feels so genuine, the audience will feel they are there.

Harriet Klausner

Reviewed by PNR Group Member
Posted August 29, 2001


The saga of the Skolian Empire continues with the story of Kamoj Quanta Argali, who governs an impoverished province on a backward planet. For her people, she is going to marry the prosperous Jax Ironbridge. But before they can do so she is forced into marriage with a stranger from a distant star.


The Quantum Rose
(Skolian Empire, Book 6)
by Catherine Asaro

Tor Books
December 1, 2000
ISBN #0312890621
EAN #9780312890629
389 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Catherine Asaro

Charmed Destinies
Diamond Star
The Ruby Dice
The Night Bird
The Ruby Dice
The Fire Opal
The Dawn Star
The Final Key
The Misted Cliffs
The Journey Home
Sunrise Alley
The Moon's Shadow
Irresitible Forces
The Charmed Sphere
Charmed Destinies
The Moon's Shadow
Spherical Harmonic
Spherical Harmonic
Ascendant Sun
The Phoenix Code
The Veiled Web
The Radiant Seas
The Last Hawk
Catch The Lightning
Primary Inversion

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction