ParaNormalRomance.org

THE SWEETEST DARK by SHANA ABE

Summary

For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.

“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Magic, Victorian England
Reading Level: Ages 18 and up

REVIEWS

The Sweetest Dark has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)

 

The Sweetest Dark
by Shana Abe

Bantam
August 1, 2012
Available: August 21, 2012
ISBN #0345531701
EAN #9780345531704
352 pages
Hardcover
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Shana Abe

The Time Weaver
The Treasure Keeper
Queen of Dragons
The Dream Thief
The Smoke Thief
The Last Mermaid

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction