Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child when her family is destroyed in war. She doesn't yet know she has inherited a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the noble School of Pellinor and enables her to see the world as no other can. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the great Bards of Lirigon, that her true identity and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now, she and her mysterious teacher must embark on a treacherous, uncertain journey through a time and place where the forces of darkness wield an otherworldly terror. The first book in a projected quartet, Alison Croggon's epic about Maerad and her remarkable yet dangerous gift is a beautiful, unforgettable tale. Presented as a new translation of an ancient text, "The Naming evokes the rich and complex landscape of Annar, a legendary world just waiting to be discovered.


The Naming has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


The Naming
(Pellinor Series: Book 1)
by Alison Croggon

Candlewick Press
May 1, 2005
Available: May 10, 2005
ISBN #0763626392
EAN #9780763626396
528 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Alison Croggon

The Singing
The Riddle

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction