HIS LADY FAIR will be released on February 1, 2002. It is the story of Maria Burton, who spends all her life in servitude, believing she is the bastard child of a disgraced noblewoman. She learns that she is actually the legitimate daughter of the Duke of Sterlyng, and runs away from her dreary existence to find him.

En route to Sterlyng's estate, she is waylaid by Nicholas Hawken, Marquis of Kirkham, who is fiercely attracted to her. Nicholas appears as a worthless, dissipated nobleman. In reality, he is a very competent spy in the employ of the Duke of Bedford, the man conducting the war against France. Clandestinely, Nicholas gathers information for Bedford and either acts on the information himself, or passes it on to the duke. Nicholas Hawken is ruthless and daring, yet utterly believable as a profligate nobleman. He suspects the Duke of Sterlyng of passing sensitive information to the French, but he needs hard evidence. Sidetracked by Maria, but unaware that she is Sterlyng's daughter, he seduces her. Maria quickly realizes their interlude means nothing to Nicholas. She runs away, certain that he is a scoundrel.

Maria is reunited with her father, who is ecstatic to find her again, when he had been led to believe that she had died at birth. Sterlyng takes Maria to London and decides to allow her to choose her own husband. Nicholas locates her in town and decides that the perfect ploy will be to act as one of Maria's suitors while he pursues the evidence he needs to hang Sterlyng as a traitor. However, he falls in love with Maria.


His Lady Fair has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


His Lady Fair
by Margo Maguire

February 1, 2002
ISBN #0373291965
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Margo Maguire

Temptation of the Warrior
A Warrior's Taking
Not Quite a Lady
The Virtuous Knight
Scoundrel's Daughter
Norwyck's Lady
Celtic Bride

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction