The national bestselling Noble Dead saga is “one of those [series] for which the term dark fantasy was definitely intended” (Chronicle).

After her adventures with Magiere and Leesil, Wynn Hygeorht has returned to the Guild of Sagecraft, bearing texts supposedly penned by vampires from the time of the Forgotten History and the Great War. Seized by the Guild’s scholars and sent out for copying without Wynn’s consent, several pages disappear—and the two sages charged with conveying these pages are murdered. Suspicious of the Guild, separated from the only friends she fully trusts, and convinced the Noble Dead are responsible for the killings, Wynn embarks on a quest to uncover the secrets of the texts.

Author's Note: Series 2 continues the world conflict and its mystery begun in Series 1. It is set on another continent, with a different trio of protagonists taking the forefront. New antagonists emerge as well among a host of interesting side characters. And it all takes place in cultures and lands never seen before.

Read an Excerpt


In Shade and Shadow has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


In Shade and Shadow
(The Noble Dead: Series 2, Book 1)
by Barb Hendee, J. C. Hendee

January 1, 2009
Available: January 6, 2009
ISBN #0451462505
EAN #9780451462503
400 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Barb Hendee

Of Truth and Beasts
Hunting Memories
Child of a Dead God
Blood Memories
Rebel Fay
Traitor to the Blood
Sister of the Dead
Thief of Lives

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction