Tor Books is thrilled to announce the start of an all-new epic fantasy series from R. A. Salvatore—and his first published by Tor—The Saga of the First King.

Book one, The Ancient takes place back in the early days of Corona, the same world that the DemonWars novels are set in, and a time period that Salvatore has only written about once before in The Highwayman (Tor, October 2007). First introduced to Bransen Garibond in The Highwayman, readers will now follow Salvatore’s beloved hero into the next step of his journey. Searching for his long-lost father, Bransen is tricked into journeying across the Gulf of Corona to the wild lands of Vanguard, where he is pressed into service in a desperate war against the brutal Samhaist, Ancient Badden.

Meanwhile, on an Alpinadoran lake, just below Ancient Badden's magical ice castle, several societies, caught in the web of their own conflicts, are oblivious to Ancient Badden's devastating plans to destroy them. Bransen becomes the link between the wars, and if he fails, all who live on the lake will perish, and all of northern Honce will fall under the shadow of the merciless and vengeful Samhaists.

The Ancient is just the beginning of this story. Salvatore has plans to continue The Saga of the First King through three books, one a year following the release of The Ancient.

Read an Excerpt


The Ancient has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


The Ancient
(The Saga of the First King: Book 1)
by R. A. Salvatore

Tor Books
March 1, 2008
Available: March 4, 2008
ISBN #0765317893
EAN #9780765317896
384 pages
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
R. A. Salvatore

Sea of Swords
Promise of the Witch King
The Highwayman

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction