England flourishes under the hand of its Virgin Queen: Elizabeth, Gloriana, last and most powerful of the Tudor monarchs. But a great light casts a great shadow. In hidden catacombs beneath London, a second Queen holds court: Invidiana, ruler of faerie England, and a dark mirror to the glory above.

In the thirty years since Elizabeth ascended her throne, fae and mortal politics have become inextricably entwined, in secret alliances and ruthless betrayals whose existence is suspected only by a few. Two courtiers, both struggling for royal favor, are about to uncover the secrets that lie behind these two thrones.

When the faerie lady Lune is sent to monitor and manipulate Elizabeth’s spymaster, Walsingham, her path crosses that of Michael Deven, a mortal gentleman and agent of Walsingham’s. His discovery of the ‘hidden player’ in English politics will test Lune’s loyalty and Deven’s courage alike. Will she betray her Queen for the sake of a world that is not hers? And can he survive in the alien and Machiavellian world of the fae? For only together will they be able to find the source of Invidiana’s power — find it, and break it…

Read an Excerpt


Midnight Never Come has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


Midnight Never Come
(The Onyx Court: Book 1)
by Marie Brennan

Hachette Book Group USA (Orbit Books)
June 1, 2008
Available: June 9, 2008
ISBN #031602029X
EAN #9780316020299
400 pages
Trade Size
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Marie Brennan

A Star Shall Fall
In Ashes Lie

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction