The absence of men on the planet didn't mean there were no problems and Sergeant ‘Chip’ Coppelli has seen more than her fair share of them. She finally escaped her family's manipulative plots by running away to join the rangers. However this is hardly a safe occupation. After nine years in the rangers, fighting thugs and wild predators, Chip has learnt to spot trouble coming – which she does on meeting the new recruit to her patrol.

Katryn Nagata joins the 23rd squadron in highly unfavourable circumstances. She is clearly worried, and not ready to tell anyone why. The first time Chip sets eyes on her she knows that there is trouble on the way, but Chip still wasn’t expecting murder.

Previous limited release as The Wrong Trail Knife)

Author's Note The Celaeno are all intended to be standalone novels that are set on the same planet and only sometimes reuse the same characters, so the order is not critical. However, I think of them in the order I wrote them, and taking the series in this order this will let the reader follow me as my conception of the planet acquires more detail and layering. However this is not the chronological order of the stories.

so the order written in:

1) The Temple at Landfall 2) The Walls of Westernfort 3) Rangers at Roadsend 4) Dynasty of Rogues 5) Shadow of the Knife (due March 2008)

and chronological order:

1) Shadow of the Knife (due March 2008) 2) Rangers at Roadsend 3) The Temple at Landfall 4) The Walls of Westernfort 5) Dynasty of Rogues

As you can see, readers determined to follow the chronological order will have a problem, in that the earliest book is not yet published. I also reserve the right to write books preceding this, should a suitable plot occur to me.

Read an Excerpt


Rangers at Roadsend has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


Rangers at Roadsend
(The Celaeno Series: Book 3)
by Jane Fletcher

Bold Strokes Books
July 1, 2005
Available: July 1, 2005
ISBN #1933110287
EAN #9781933110288
309 pages
Trade Size
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Jane Fletcher

Wolfsbane Winter
The High Priest and the Idol
Shadow of the Knife
Dynasty of Rogues
The Empress and the Acolyte
The Traitor And the Chalice
The Exile and the Sorcerer
The Temple at Landfall
The Walls of Westernfort

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction