Golden Crown Literary Award Winner - Sci-Fi/Fantasy 2005

All Natasha Ionadis wants is to devote her life to the Goddess. That was why she joined the temple guard--to be a soldier for Celaeno. When the chance to volunteer for dangerous mission comes along, she jumps at it. Three agents will infiltrate the heretic's stronghold of Westernfort, and assassinate the leaders of the evil cult. It is likely that she will not return, but this is not a problem. Natasha is more than willing to give her life for her faith.

Except, things are not that straightforward. Once inside Westernfort, Natasha must live alongside the women she has sworn to kill. To her confusion, the heretics do not seem like depraved maniacs. One in particular has an unmistakable effect on Natasha's emotions. The heretical beliefs run contrary to every teaching of the temple, but are they wrong? And has Natasha left it too late to start asking questions?

Author's Note The Celaeno are all intended to be standalone novels that are set on the same planet and only sometimes reuse the same characters, so the order is not critical. However, I think of them in the order I wrote them, and taking the series in this order this will let the reader follow me as my conception of the planet acquires more detail and layering. However this is not the chronological order of the stories.

so the order written in:

1) The Temple at Landfall 2) The Walls of Westernfort 3) Rangers at Roadsend 4) Dynasty of Rogues 5) Shadow of the Knife (due March 2008)

and chronological order:

1) Shadow of the Knife (due March 2008) 2) Rangers at Roadsend 3) The Temple at Landfall 4) The Walls of Westernfort 5) Dynasty of Rogues

As you can see, readers determined to follow the chronological order will have a problem, in that the earliest book is not yet published. I also reserve the right to write books preceding this, should a suitable plot occur to me.

Read an Excerpt


The Walls of Westernfort has not yet been reviewed.

(Notify me via e-mail when this book is reviewed.)


The Walls of Westernfort
(The Celaeno Series: Book 2)
by Jane Fletcher

Bold Strokes Books
March 1, 2005
Available: March 1, 2005
ISBN #1933110244
EAN #9781933110240
320 pages
Trade Size
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Other Books by
Jane Fletcher

Wolfsbane Winter
The High Priest and the Idol
Shadow of the Knife
Dynasty of Rogues
The Empress and the Acolyte
The Traitor And the Chalice
The Exile and the Sorcerer
The Temple at Landfall
Rangers at Roadsend

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction