Here Lies Arthur
September 1, 2008
Available: September 1, 2008
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Philip Reeve

Philip Reeve was born and raised in Brighton, where he worked in a bookshop for a number of years while also co-writing, producing and directing a number of no-budget theatre projects. Philip then began illustrating and has since provided cartoons for around forty children's books, including the best-selling Horrible Histories, Murderous Maths and Dead Famous series.

Philip has been writing stories since he was five, but Mortal Engines was the first to be published. Mortal Engines defies easy categorisation. It is a gripping adventure story set in an inspired fantasy world, where moving cities trawl the globe. A magical and unique read, it immediately caught the attention of reviewers and book buyers. It was shortlisted for several awards and was the Gold Award winner at the Nestle Smarties Book Prize 2002 and the winner of the Blue Peter Book of the Year at the 2003 Awards.

The follow-up to Mortal Engines, Predator's Gold, was published in September 2003 and has been widely acclaimed. It was also selected for the YA Best Books by the American Library Association, 2005.

The highly anticipated sequel Infernal Devices followed in March 2004 where Tom and Hester return for another perilous adventure. This time their daughter 's life is at stake, can she be saved from the Lost Boys? The final book in the series A Darkling Plain, which completes this fantastic adventure was released in 2006 to great acclaim and won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize.

That wasn 't the last thrilling tale either. In 2007, Here Lies Arthur, was published. Full of drama, intrigue - and more than a little blood - this epic tale follows the adventures of a young girl who becomes embroiled in the lives of a young King Arthur and a well-known wizard! Here Lies Arthur has been shortlisted for the 2008 Carnegie Medal. Keep an eye out for the results, which will announced on 26 June.

Philip has also written a series for younger readers, Buster Bayliss. Buster always seems to attract trouble and is soon caught up in far-fetched but hilarious adventures. There are currently three titles, The Night of the Living Veg, The Big Freeze and The Day of the Hamster. He has also written and illustrated the definitive guide to Nelson for the Dead Famous series. Philip has also illustrated the brilliant Urgum the Axeman books.

Philip lives on Dartmoor with his wife and son, and his interests are walking, drawing, writing and reading.

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction