October 1, 2005
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

M. John Harrison

M John Harrison's first novel was published by Hutchinson New Authors in 1971.

In Viriconium was nominated for the Guardian Fiction Prize in 1982, and was followed by two collections of short stories, The Ice Monkey and Viriconium Nights. Climbers appeared in 1989, and won the Boardman Tasker Memorial Award. Harrison collaborated with the artist Ian Miller on a graphic novel, The Luck in the Head.

The Course of the Heart was published in 1992, followed by Signs of Life in 1997. A comprehensive collection of short stories, Things That Never Happen, and Light, a science fiction novel, appeared in 2002.

His short stories have appeared in many venues, including the Times Literary Supplement and the Independent on Sunday. Since 1991 he has reviewed fiction in the TLS, the Guardian and the Daily Telegraph, and young adult fiction in the New York Times. He was a member of the Michael Powell Jury (best British feature) at the 2003 Edinburgh International Film Festival. Light was co-winner of the 2003 James Tiptree Award.

He lives near the river in West London. His most recent novel is Nova Swing.

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction