The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Eighteenth Annual Collec
August 1, 2005
Add to Shopping List
Order from Amazon

Editor Ellen Datlow

Photo Credit: Photo: Based on art by J.K. Potter

As fiction editor of Omni magazine and Omni Online from 1981 through 1998, Ellen Datlow encouraged and helped develop an entire generation of fiction writers, and has published some of today's biggest names in the SF, fantasy and horror genres. The stunning assortment of writers Datlow brought to the pages of Omni includes such talents as William Gibson, Pat Cadigan, Dan Simmons, K.W. Jeter, Clive Barker, Stephen King, William Burroughs, Ursula K. Le Guin, Jonathan Carroll, Joyce Carol Oates, Peter Straub and Jack Cady, among many others.

She was then the editor of Event Horizon: Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror, a Webzine founded in September 1998 that remained active until December 1999. During that period, Event Horizon published "The Specialist's Hat" by Kelly Link, winner of the 1999 World Fantasy Award for Best Short Story -- only the second story published on the Internet to win the World Fantasy Award. (The first, "Radio Waves" by Michael Swanwick, was published by Datlow in Omni Online).

Ellen Datlow is currently tied for winning the most World Fantasy Awards in the organization's history (seven); has won, with co-editor Terri Windling, a Bram Stoker Award for The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror #13, with co-editors Kelly Link and Gavin J. Grant, a Bram Stoker Award for The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror #17, The International Horror Guild Award for her ghost story anthology, The Dark, the Locus Award for Best Editor in 2005 and 2006, and the Hugo Award for Best Editor in 2002 and 2005. In addition, SCIFICTION won the Hugo Award for best Web site in 2005 as well as the Wooden Rocket award as best online magazine for 2005.

EBook Isle Bookstore hosted by Fresh Fiction